noob wifi tethering ?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Nsane1

    Nsane1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm kind of ashamed to ask this but I'm curious. Now that I have Froyo and the option in settings to WiFi tether will I get charged an extra fee from Verizon for doing so?

    And if so, what are my options for doing it for free with-out root? I don't ever use it nor do I really need it but I can foresee in the future using it some random day. Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. McChazo

    McChazo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
  3. kkl1993

    kkl1993 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    90
    yea u will get charged it you use it. but there is a method that u can use the 3g mobile hotspot for free. search in the root subforums. i saw it yesterday
     
  4. Nsane1

    Nsane1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    5
  5. mrsbethyoung

    mrsbethyoung Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    5
    If you follow the directions in that thread then open the "3G Mobile Hotspot" app, tethering with wifi works.

    Just hit OK when the 3G hotspot splash screen comes up and you can configure your settings and broadcast the connection.
     
  6. Stupifier

    Stupifier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    46
    Nobody seems to REALLY know if they will still get charged by Verizon for doing it the Trick way (##778, 000000, etc).....haven't seen anyone confirm no charge
     
  7. kkl1993

    kkl1993 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    90
    yea i am still a little hesitant about doing this becuz no one confirmed that they dont charge you, but if someone does then i will start using it
     
  8. Nsane1

    Nsane1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    5
    I can confirm that doing the dun hack on my env touch using the usb cable I was never charged for it. The two methods look to be identical.
     
  9. Minimike

    Minimike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    20
    I did it under stock 2.1, but stock 2.2 won't do it now.
     
  10. thelastdraco

    thelastdraco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    12
    they dont charge you, ive been doing it for a while and have been checking vzw online
     
  11. Stupifier

    Stupifier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    46
    Thank god we have some people confirming no charge for it. Read up everywhere and nobody would give a straight answer.

    I got it working on Stock 2.2 just fine. I followed the instructions to the letter and it worked. You must be doing something wrong.
     
  12. Nsane1

    Nsane1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    5
    They don't charge you because to them it just looks like your using your phone on its internet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...