norfolk trip and desire used roaming


Last Updated:

  1. matluz

    matluz Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI,
    I was travelling through norfolk uk yesterday and several times my desire on 3 network showed the R for roaming and a fullish signal. Idid not get any charge as far as i can tell for this as i checked my top up ( pay as you go).
    Several weeks ago I used the same sim card on a skype 3 phone and it did not roam once. It did loose the signal a few times though.
    Has anyone seen this happen automatically???
    I had roaming set to off in the menu???

    Thanks
    Mat
     

    Advertisement
  2. zalanz

    zalanz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    whilst on vacation in Cornwall, my phone was often showing ORANGE F

    Guess it just picks up the strongest signal
     
  3. bigr1979

    bigr1979 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    11
    The "R" shows on three network on mine everytime I am on a 2g connection, it's not a problem, it will show that everytime you switch to GSM
     
    matluz likes this.
  4. Nodders

    Nodders Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    50
    I pity any folk who live in Dover. While walking the White Cliffs I kept getting text messages welcoming me to France and some hugely expensive roaming rate.
     
    matluz likes this.
  5. Killyouridols

    Killyouridols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Meh. Norfolk/Suffolk might as well be overseas ;)


    KYI
     
    matluz likes this.
  6. chris 290

    chris 290 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    44
    I get this alot when I move from town to country, I think the roaming setting disabled the data and not the phone and I think three does not charge for phone calls when roaming
     
    matluz likes this.
  7. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    I believe that Three phones can roam on the Orange network at no charge to the user. Three has a deal with Orange to plug the holes in it's coverage.
     
    matluz likes this.
  8. nacatomi

    nacatomi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    82
    On the 3 network you will get this in any area that has a poor 3G signal. 3UK are a 3G only network and as such they have an agreement with Orange to use their network to provide 2G coverage where there is no 3G.

    Your phone will switch automatically and continue to be ok, as long as you are not leaving the country you will be safe to activate data roaming as you are not charged when you go onto the Orange network and use 2G data (Slow as hell but ok in a pinch).

    I did hear somewhere that there are plans to make it so that when you switch its not classed as roaming so the "R" doesnt appear and can happily switch off data roaming.
     
    matluz likes this.
  9. DroidPete

    DroidPete Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2

    If you live in Dover (or have a similar situation), then you'd just set your network manually to your actual network instead of Automatic - then if there is a stronger signal (from say Orange F) it will stay on your own network.
     
    matluz likes this.
  10. matluz

    matluz Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok thanks that does make sense I have learnt something from your posts.

    Mat
     

Share This Page

Loading...