Not able to give apps root access?


Last Updated:

  1. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I've rooted my Hero, flashed a custom ROM, flashed a custom kernel, and then I downloaded some root-requiring apps (namely setCPU and Wifi Tether). However, whenever I open these apps, they do not ask me for Superuser Permissions!

    For example, when I open setCPU, it says "No root access detected. Are applications allowed access to root? Operating in read-only mode."

    How do I fix this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Let's start by making sure you have USB Debugging Enabled.

    Are you still able to boot into Recovery?
     
  3. jxr94

    jxr94 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    12
    Also which rom did you flash?
     
  4. TeamTJ

    TeamTJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have the same problem with AddFree and Darchdroid 2.8
     
  5. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, USB debugging IS enabled. And yes, I CAN boot into recovery mode at any time by holding home + power.

    I am using nfinite's deodexed stock ROM, which comes with Superuser v2.2.2.
     
  6. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    Just out of curiosity, why would having usb debugging matter in this instance? I don't think I've turned on debugging since I actually rooted the phone.
     
  7. dpeeps74

    dpeeps74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    reinstall superuser permissions 2.2.2. i have had times with darchdroid at least where superuser permissions stopped working properly, and downloading it from xda and reinstalling it resolved the issue.
     
  8. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    There are some root apps I've seen that have required you to have USB Debugging enabled. I have had it on and always leave it on. Have never, ever ran into any problems.
     
  9. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    Hmm, that's news to me, good to know I guess.
     

Share This Page

Loading...