• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help not booting up ?!

Campers

Lurker
Nov 4, 2012
Hello .
Last night i bought a SH HTC DHD , and had android 4.03 installed on it .
This morning i noticed that the battery drained too quick overnight and i thought it's cause of this version of android officially not supported by DHD .
I then tryed to 'factory data reset' , thinking that it could be some apps opened in background with uses the battery . After completing the reset , the phone doesn't boot up anymore.
I mean , it shows the HTC logo , then 4 coloured lines , then just a blank screen . If i use volume keys , it does show the volume on screen . if i hold 'power' button , it says to keep it pushed 3 2 1 more seconds to restart , but when it reaches to 1 ..nothing happens .
I would wish to install his original firmware . How to ? i m a complete newbye and don't know where to start .
Please , some step by step instructions ?

The phone runs a custom ROM so the factory reset function will not work properly.

Your best bet is to restore a backup or flash a new custom ROM or false the latest official ROM. Before we do any of this, could you try to boot into recovery.

Remove the battery for 10 seconds, press the volume down button and keep it depressed. Thanks press power. You should boot up into Hboot. When there please right down and post what you see on the screen.

You should see a option called Recovery. Use the volume button to navigate and the power button to select. In Recovery select the option to Restore. If there are any backups there you can restore that. List down the names displayed when you select restore.

See if there is anything in there than post back here.

Reactions: Campers
Upvote 0
hello
thank you for your answer
i (finally ! ) managed to enter recovery mode , tryed to restore but it's saying "couldn't open directory . / No files found. "