Not recieving any sms messages

Last Updated:

1. Hero_Guy

Hero_Guy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Hi everyone this is my first time post but I've been looking at this forum for quite sometime. I got my hero about one week ago and its been great. I have not had any problems with it and it is actually really fast and I have not had any lag on it yet but I did have my first problem yesterday.

For some reason my phone stopped recieving texts but i would be able too send them and my friends would get them but i still would not recieve any of their texts. I tried texting allow all to 9999 but still nothing so i did a soft reset and it worked!!! btw im using handcent and neither handcent or the stock messaging app would recieve texts but i did have over 120+ up hours and an awake time of 20%. would that have to do with anything?

im not rooted and i did uninstall recent apps to see if that was the cause but it was not but has anyone had this problem?

Advertisement
  2. V425

V425 Well-Known Member

A daily reboot, occassional update of profile/PRL, deleting large text threads, and making sure your internal memory doesn't get too low are all good ideas to ensure that you don't stop receiving messages.

3. Hero_Guy

i do all of that except the reboot, how often should i do it? every other day or once a week?

4. V425

V425 Well-Known Member

I've seen people on here say they do it daily, but I personally don't remember to do it that often. But I make sure I do it after installing new apps, when things get slow, ect. I've never stopped receiving texts (that I know of) but if I did then I'd probably make sure I did it daily.

5. Hero_Guy

ok cool thanks, i did have a task manager but i saw somewhere on here that it isnt necessary so i uninstalled it to see if it would make a difference

6. V425

V425 Well-Known Member