Note 2 Obtaining IP addressSupport

Last Updated: 2013-01-15 09:09:34
  1. davidhaigh

davidhaigh Member

I have a problem connecting my brand new Note2 to my work wifi. No problems at home or friend's, but can't connect at work. I just get "obtaining IP address" over and over again. Password is OK and all other wifi devices at work are connected.

I've seen several threads on different forums addressing this problem, but they seem to assume ICS. or other phones. For example, I can't find a way of using a static IP address: the phone just doesn't seem to offer that option!? Is it Jellybean or just my Note2 that has very limited advanced options available in the wifi settings?

I'm new to this but any suggestions or links or pointers would be VERY welcome!

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
  2. breadnatty08

breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

Welcome to the forums, David!
    This can be a common issue among Android phones. Have you tried other wifi networks, do they connect? Not sure if it's possible, but can you reset the work wifi router?
  3. lunatic59

lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum Moderator

I moved your thread to the Samsung Galaxy Note 2 forum. You'll get better answers here. :)

As for setting a static IP ... go to menu>settings>wi-fi then long-press on the network in question and select modify. Check the bock that says advanced options and you can scroll further down to change the IP from DHCP to static.
    davidhaigh likes this.
  4. davidhaigh

davidhaigh Member

Thanks to both for your replies!

Yes, dreadnatty08, I've connected to 3 other wifis automatically, without problem, it's just my work wifi (with an old router) to which I can't connect.

I can't believe I missed the scrolling action in the advanced options box! Duh! Guess I'm not yet used to "hidden" scroll bars. Learning all the time!

Anyway, thanks to lunatic59 I've now changed IP to static and after using other IP address & DNS info provided elsewhere on this forum, I AM CONNECTED!!!