• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Notification Prob...

Hello, I recently just bought my HTC Hero so im total noob at this.

Anyways Iv'e read and search about ongoing prob with the notification ringtones, but i still can't get my ringtones. Don't mean to repeat similar posts....

I did the following to solve this particular prob..

• Connect the phone to your computer via the USB cable
  • Open the Notifications screen on your phone (pull down a finger from the top of the screen to the bottom) and select the USB Storage notification
  • Choose “Mount”
  • Browse to the SD Card on your PC
  • Look for a folder called media, if it’s not there, create it by right clicking and choosing New Folder, then rename the folder to be media
  • Inside the media folder, you need a folder called audio, again, if it’s not there create it as above
  • Inside the audio folder, you can create a subfolder for the sound category you want to change-
    • ringtones – for sound files you want to use as ringtones
    • alarms – for sound files you want to use for any alarms
    • notifications – for incoming notifications such as SMS alerts, emails, etc.
BUT STILL... Don't work. I also turn my phone off and on to recognize the ringtones, which it does... and i selected my ringtone for my notifcations. But no go....

P.S. Oh but when I did plug in my phone to my computer. It did play my notifction ringtone, but it does not play when i recived notification for text

Any ideas?