Notification Tone GlitchingSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Isaac Clarke

    Isaac Clarke Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi, recently I just applied the new ics update to my phone. It seems that the notification tone that I have selected which is a custom tone is not playing, instead it is playing another tone which is not selected. Does anyone know what the problem is and how I can go about fixing this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Alabama

    Alabama Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your not alone. Mine is doing the same thing.

    Edit: Fixed my problem. My notification sound under settings/sound was set to whistle but when i get a text it was playing something else. Just now i went to messages then settings and the tone there was sherbert Changed it and now I'm good to go. Hope this helps.
     
  3. Kyrotech

    Kyrotech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have the same issue
    I noticed this with higher pitch tones
    its definetly a bug with the ICS upgrade
     
  4. trvlrschick

    trvlrschick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ditto for me. It's pretty annoying.
     
  5. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    2,667
    Yes, it seems that the ICS update resets your ringtone/notification tone.
    After updating I had to reset mine to my preference as well.
     
  6. Talderon

    Talderon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    247
    I have also seen something similar on my wife's SG3... Interesting...
     
  7. Kyrotech

    Kyrotech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    12
    I had this issue with the AT&T leak also
     
  8. trvlrschick

    trvlrschick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried resetting mine, but it doesn't work. It keeps playing the glitch tone.
     
  9. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    419
    Interesting, I initially had an issue with it resetting my notification tone also, but it was a one time occurance. When I set it back, I no longer had the issue. But I'm not running custom tones. I use Postman as my default and it works as it should now.
     
  10. buddylee415

    buddylee415 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same issue on my HTC Rezound after the Ice Cream Sandwhich (ICS) upgrade. Here's how I fixed the issue:

    1) Connect phone to computer.
    2) On the phone storage and not the SD card, add a directory /media/audio/notifications.
    3) Copy the custom notification ringtone to the directory from step 2.
    4) On the phone, go to messages. NOTE: Do not go to the settings of the phone and modify the notification tone there. The messages notification sound is separate.
    5) Go to Settings > Notifications.
    6) Set the "Notification sound"

    NOTE: Yes, HTC's ICS should be using the directory /Notifications, but the messages settings doesn't seem to retrieve this information. Only after adding my audio file here did it show up in the list for step 6. However, for normal ringtones, placing them under the /Ringtones directory worked fine without the need to also place them under /media/audio/ringtones.
     
  11. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    2,667
    Welcome to Android Forums, buddylee415!
    I hope you enjoy AF.
    I couldn't help but notice that on your very first post, you are already being helpful.:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...