Notifications Ringtone Issue.Support


Last Updated:

  1. Flubatron

    Flubatron Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Long time lurker, first time poster here. I've had my HTC Desire a while and i've had no problems with it this far. However, yesterday i decided to change my notification from one of the HTC ones to one of my own creation. In all the menu's this comes up fine, but if i ever recieve a text then it keeps playing the HTC notification tone, not mine.

    I cant even change it to other HTC tones, it just keeps playing the same one.

    Any suggestions? I've scoured the net for hours and just cant fix it :<
     

    Advertisement
  2. Anthony1

    Anthony1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    45
    You haven't got a 3rd part app installed for notifications have you? Something like 'Missed reminder' or 'ringdroid'
     
  3. Flubatron

    Flubatron Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used to have 'Rings Extended' installed in order to easily change my notifications and ringtones, and had a custom notification for a while but i changed it back to a default theme for a bit. I have uninstalled Rings Extended to see if it makes any difference (it didnt) and have since re-installed it again. I recently got ringdroid within the last half hour or so to see if that could help, but no luck there either.
     
  4. Anthony1

    Anthony1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best thing I'd advise without knowing anything else is to delete the 'notifications' directory within 'media/audio' give it a reboot and then see how that goes.
     
  5. Flubatron

    Flubatron Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it safe to delete that folder? Or will i have to remake it myself? I've done a bit more googling and apparantly if you delete the tone thats playing in question, it will from then on just be silent...
     
  6. Anthony1

    Anthony1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    45
    Yes, it's safe to delete. You'll have to recreate it if you want to use any new custom notification sounds, but that's easy enough.
     
  7. kboya

    kboya Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    72
    alternatively, you could try entering messages, menu, settings, notification sound and selecting there... any help?
     
    Flubatron likes this.
  8. Anthony1

    Anthony1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    45
    His first post lead me to assume that he's already tried that, but if I'm wrong then, yes, that would be a good start.
     
  9. kboya

    kboya Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    72

    fair play, but there is the notification menu in the sounds and display, and another dedicated one within messages... took me a while to figure that out 1st time round, when it started playing the whole of Prince' 45minute Lovesexy album: DOH! :eek:
     
  10. Anthony1

    Anthony1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    45
    That would be a bit overkill for a notification sound :p
     
  11. Flubatron

    Flubatron Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    OH YOU LEGEND! I've fixed it now, thanks guys.

    For anyone that needs it in the future:

    Go to Messages, press 'Menu' --> Settings. and at the bottom is 'notification sound' which is a whole different set of sounds for notifications.

    Thanks alot guys! :D
     
  12. gerry4

    gerry4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to have a different ringtone for messages from the standard ones. Where do you need to place the ringtone and what format does it need to be?
     
  13. jimdriver2

    jimdriver2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    11
    The issue seems to be solved now, but i'll add this as it might be useful to anyone to has the same thing and gets here by searching.

    I had the same thing, near enough, initially set to mp3 tone I added (created media/notifications folder) worked fine, later tried to add a new one but it kept playing the old one. I deleted that and it went silent.

    I didn't rediscover the messages menu as mentioned above until later, but I like people have said that should fix it. The menu through the settings->sound & display menu doesn't seem to work properly.

    Anyway, I fixed mine by installing Handsent. My theory is that when you set a tone through that it does set it the right away, like the messages->menu way, rather than settings. Also it has the test notification feature, very handy in this case. Also it's a lot better than the built in one, IMO, with it's pop-up info on arrival when you're in sleep mode, and the fact it's being regularly updated.
     
  14. Flubatron

    Flubatron Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its very easy to get an app called "Rings Extended" (there are many similar ones out there, thats just the one i use) so when you go to pick a ringtone, it will ask you if you want to use this app. Simply click yes and you can navigate to where you put the ringtone, (often its a song from your songs folder).

    However, additionally if you do not want to use an app, you can put it in the following location:

    SDCard --> Media --> Audio --> Notifications.

    So far i've only tried mp3's though, so i'm unsure about the format.
     
  15. jessibelluk

    jessibelluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone please help me. I downloaded a soundboard and put some in my notifications but doubled some of them up by mistake. How do I delete them?
     

Share This Page

Loading...