Novice to development. Apps run very slow...

Last Updated:

1. caiel

caiel Member This Topic's Starter

Hello,

This is the first time I am developing on a linux box.

Specs:
    Ubuntu 8.04 - the Hardy Heron
    Linux matrix 2.6.24-26-generic #1 SMP Tue Dec 1 18:37:31 UTC 2009 i686 GNU/Linux

When I run the android examples ( .../android-sdk-linux_86/platforms/android-2.0.1/samples), or even the "hello world", it takes a very long time for the AVD to show the application. I am talking about 10 minutes or around 10 minutes

The response times are very slow.

Is this related to my linux environment.

Is there any way I can make the applications open faster ?

I am not an expert on linux administration. Can anybody let me know any basic maintenance tasks that has to be done.

Thanks a lot!

Srinivas

Advertisement
  2. starwed

starwed New Member

I have the same problem. (I'm running Ubuntu 9.10 on an eeePC.) Trying to get the hello world to run, it takes a really, really, long time for the AVD to become responsive.

Are there any specific AVD settings that might help with this? Or is it just futile to try android development on a 1.6 GHz netbook?

3. sn00zer

sn00zer Member

I think that running the emulator on a netbook is probably not a great idea. While it may run it will be VERY slow especially if you're using the eeePC that only has 1GB of RAM.

As far as linux goes I develop using Ubuntu and don't seem to have a problem with it. My laptop also has 4GB of RAM. It does run a lot slower on my laptop than it does on my desktop(8GB RAM).

The emulator just seems to be slow in general. The best solution I've found is to develop/test/debug on an actual device. It is WAY faster than the emulator.

4. tliebeck

tliebeck VIP Member VIP Member