now rooted, loving it! (a testimonial)


Last Updated:

  1. the CP

    the CP Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    8
    Over the weekend, I rooted my Hero. First ROM I did was Fresh 2.3.3 because I'd heard it was a great "beginner" ROM to use.

    Liked the Espresso style more than stock Rosie. Liked how snappy and responsive it seemed.

    Didn't care so much for the fact that it was still pretty much Sense. Before rooting, I had been running 2.1 with Launcher Pro installed. I missed the scrollable dock, so started shopping around for a new ROM.

    Installed DarchDroid 2.8. Right after the install, I fell in love. The speed is killer, I can use Launcher Pro without worry (what's the point in running a Sense rom with a different launcher?)

    First thing I did was download BlackMod 1.3, because I'm not a big fan of the white status bar. Great.

    Then I enabled JIT. Holy crap, amazing speed!

    Then I installed and set up SetCPU. Aside from a brainfart on my behalf (setting the clock speed too low when below a battery percent I'd already dropped below) that caused massive freezes, I got it tweeked and am absolutely loving it.

    So, now that I'm firmly planted in the root zone, I'm perfectly happy with my Hero again. Note, I've never had too many problems with the phone. Some lag in the dialer, would lag elsewhere when it got low on memory but that's to be expected when you're doing as much as I was at the time.

    I'm addicted. I'm going to be looking for new things to do to the phone all the time now. Once CyanogenMod 6 is to a more "permanent" level I'll try that out.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    Darchdroid 2.8 with launcherpro is my best experience with my Hero to date, though I am looking forward to cm6 being complete and the new release of Zenexp.
     
  3. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    Darchdroid 2.8 with launcherpro is my best experience with my Hero to date, though I am looking forward to cm6 being complete and the new release of Zenexp. Good to hear another person is happy with their Hero!
     
  4. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    78
    Does anyone use LauncherPro on the Froyo builds? I found that the AC... whatever launcher that came stock on the RC1/Nightly ROMs were laggy until I over clocked them, not they blaze.
     
  5. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    I use Launcherpro on all aosp roms including froyo as I've always found adw launcher to be a bit laggy.
     
  6. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    78
    The dock really bothers me on LP... anyway to just have 2 icons as opposed to 4?
     
  7. dpeeps74

    dpeeps74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    you can just make the buttons blank i think. phone's not in front of me. i've been using launcherpro for a bit now and running froyo. i don't even know how anyone uses adw..there's times where it seems it's starting to run good until it gets stuck in the mud again. it's been that way on every rom i've tried that had it. whereas launcherpro has run flawlessly on every rom i've had.
     
  8. msjr405

    msjr405 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree rooting is the only way to go with the Hero the speed is so great now, no dial lag at all as well as the battery lasting so much longer. Im running CyanogenMod-6.0.0 w/ ADW Launcher and I love it
     
  9. the CP

    the CP Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    8
    If your dock has a wide background (Glass, Froyo wide, or anything custom) You can change it to three icons like Froyo by selecting Menu -> Preferences -> Appearance Settings -> Dock Background and selecting Froyo.

    To change the icons along the bottom, long press on the one you wish to change. You can select "Change Shortcut" and navigate to the app you want. One option in there is "Blank" which leaves it with no action (unless you long press again, then it'll ask you to change it again)




    I too tried ADW and didn't care for it.
     
  10. texas83

    texas83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please post links! I just rooted my phone two day ago and want to try your configuration!

    Where is DARCHDROID 2.8?

    Where do I get BLACK MOD 1.3?

    What is JIT and how do I enable?

    I already have/use SetCPU.

    THANKS!!



     
  11. the CP

    the CP Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    8
    DarchDroid 2.8

    JIT is the abbreviated form of Just In Time Compilation, a computing method that enables faster processing of code. In short, it'll speed up your phone. Instructions can be found in the second post of the above link.

    BlackMod 1.3

    Read up more, both around here and over at XDA. I can do the work required, but am not the best at explaining it yet.
     
  12. texas83

    texas83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I flashed the JIT.zip file, but then I dont know what to do next.

    The instructions say:
    To Enable JIT, flash the attachment from recovery, then when you boot up, go into terminal, SU, then enter jit-on

    How do i go in to "terminal"? I just rebooted my phone and then went to Super User, but there is not option for JIT on or off? HELP!


     
  13. texas83

    texas83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figured out JIT... BUT, where is the MARKET APP? I dont see it anywhere?!
     
  14. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    you have to flash the google apps zip in the first post. Also, there is a whole thread started by myself of everyone's linpack scores on various roms and setups, just search for it.
     
  15. Kidrah

    Kidrah New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks OP. I did the same things and i am loving it. It is like a brand new phone.
     
  16. texas83

    texas83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been using this DDv2.8, JIT, LauncherPro, BlackMod setup for the past two days and here are my issues:

    1. Google maps GPS is not working properly. I fire up the app, and the blue dot locating me is off by a few blocks. I've tried this in various places and it always has my location as a half mile or so away from where i actually am.

    2. BlackMod makes the lock screen invisible. The dots to connect are no where to be seen. Where can I download alternative themes? Or where can I download the original DD theme?

    3. Installed the random reboot patch and still getting 2-3 random reboots daily. Any fixes?

    4. Also getting a ghost voicemail notification from my own number every time i reboot or every few hours or so... How do I remove this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...