number still porting wtf


Last Updated:

  1. alansauce

    alansauce Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    It's been a day and a half since we brought home our Epic and the number is still porting over from Verizon. I've called sprint twice and they said they couldn't do anything. When I ported my number to my Evo from ATT, it only took like 10 minutes.

    Anyone having issues like that?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Hockeydood

    Hockeydood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've heard of it happening, yes. But if you think that's bad, I had a customer who had to wait just over a week for his number to port. :D
     
  3. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Call Sprint and see if they can get someone to look into it for you.

    My wife had a similar issue when porting from AT&T and it ended up being a problem on AT&T's end.
     
    alansauce likes this.
  4. Android XTC

    Android XTC Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    42

    Exactly.
     
  5. gme109

    gme109 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    46

    I've already bought my Epic, but did not port at first, I'll be waiting to make sure the phone and service work for me. But when I do port, I hope it doesn't take too long. I'm wondering if it has something to do with your bill being paid in full or not. My bill is due on Sept. 7, but my monthly plan renews on the 12th. I was planning on not paying on the 7th, and then porting on the 11th, that way AT&T will not have to send me a refund for the month I will not be using. If I do that though, I'm thinking it could slow up the porting process.
     
  6. alansauce

    alansauce Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    I called again today and they said there's a whole batch that's having issues porting. Then after they transferred me to 4 different operators they decided to redo the activation process over the phone. So hopefully it comes on today :| This was suppose to be a birthday present but now it's delayed.
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    I know it's kind of a pain... but do you NEED the same number?
     
  8. widebody

    widebody New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    damn it took me 10 min from verizon yesterday
     
  9. badassjess

    badassjess New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    That happened to me too. AT&T to Sprint. They told me it would take 5 hours on Tuesday night so it would work by 7-8pm. It didn't work. I got a text sent to my AT&T phone on Wednesday morning telling me to call Sprint with my AT&T account number. (I told the first person I had two numbers and wasn't sure which was the right one, but he assured me it worked.. but it didn't)

    So when I called Monday morning a lady from Sprint got my account number and told me to turn off my Sprint phone for 30 minutes, and that's how long it took.
     
  10. alansauce

    alansauce Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    It finally ported over last night after a 5th phone call. We did need the same number, otherwise she has to get all her contacts to update hers and it's just a huge pain in the ass. Basically Sprint said Radioshack didn't process the activation properly and then Verizon was having issues releasing the number.

    But all is well and she loves her birthday present :D
     
  11. brownhornet

    brownhornet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    34
    Happened to me when I went from Tmobile to Sprint.. I was having to make outbound calls on my tmobile phone and the inbound calls came in on my Sprint phone. Annoying to say the least.
     
  12. rambo47

    rambo47 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    41
    I don't think this is a Sprint issue. Carriers, especially Verizon, can drag their feet while a port is happening. Gives them a last chance to try and win you back.
     
  13. Khemul

    Khemul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    27
    I'd agree here.
    My porting from MetroPCS took a few hours longer then it was supposed to. Called Sprint to find out why, turned out Metro didn't want to release the number unless I called them to confirm that I was the one making the request (sort of makes sense, but the RadioShack employee who did the new signup never mentioned anything like that could be needed). A simple 3-way call with the Sprint rep and a Metro rep cleared it all up very quickly.
     
  14. NemesisDesignz

    NemesisDesignz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well lot of carriers use to make people wait 5days 10 days 2 weeks.....but recently starting on Aug 2nd I believe FCC made new law forcing carriers to allow 24 hour porting of numbers...... so if you are having issues with porting #... contact the FCC lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...