O2 and Froyo - What do they have to update?


Last Updated:

  1. JustAUserName

    JustAUserName Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just a general query really - what the hell do O2 have to update on the Froyo release?

    As far as I can tell, the only thing that I can see that O2 have pissed about with is the start splash screen.

    I don't have any specific O2 apps - that I know of anyway.

    What takes them 'several weeks' to release the new version of software?

    :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. Vonph

    Vonph Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    From what I understand, it's that O2 want to perform their own testing on the update first, before releasing it to their customers.

    In my mind, that's good internal controls they have. Their customer services department(s) can then at least be prepared for any questions that they will receive, rather than saying "Sorry, please contact HTC".
     
    JustAUserName likes this.
  3. JustAUserName

    JustAUserName Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok, that would make sense - didn't think of that.

    :)
     
  4. Vonph

    Vonph Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
  5. mabizela

    mabizela Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    I still wish they would hurry up!
     
  6. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    theyve an issue with wireless delivery i think, theyve been breaking dell streaks this morning too
     
  7. JohnShepherd

    JohnShepherd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    8
    Tip for those getting an O2 phone upgrade: Get it from the Carphone Warehouse, their phones are UNBRANDED and UNLOCKED already. If you get the phones directly from O2 (store/web), you will end up with a branded phone.

    I got mine from CFWH, was really annoyed at O2 because I thought I couldn't update, and then realized I could because CFWH doesn't brand their phones.
     
  8. Yathushan

    Yathushan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    7
    Any ideas on how long it will take before they restore the updates again??
     
  9. berlin bertie

    berlin bertie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    O2 Germany haven't released the update over here either yet...
     

Share This Page

Loading...