O2 Froyo update


Last Updated:

  1. EmSixTeen

    EmSixTeen Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've read that there is a leaked version of the O2 Froyo update, but after searching I haven't been able to find it.. Doesn't help that O2 is only 2 characters and the forums don't search for that. Does anybody have any info? I saw the RUU one, but I don't want to wipe my phone. I'm probably better waiting for the official OTA update, to be fair.. It's on the 8th or something isn't it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Yathushan

    Yathushan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    7
    I thought that the O2 froyo release would be much later than that?
     
  3. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    bare in mind that the official O2 update may contain bloat ware and O2 branding, and may also block the wifi hotspot feature of froyo. that is why I have used the unbranded RUU update.

    it seems to work perfectly.
     
  4. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
  5. Yathushan

    Yathushan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hey Rastaman!

    Welcome to the Desire forum! Glad to see you move on from the i7500 Galaxy. When did you get your upgrade?
     
  6. TonyStark

    TonyStark Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    It doesn't block the Wi-fi Hotspot, o2 have no reason to do this, as unless you got the desire as soon as O2 had it, you're not on an Unlimited data plan, and given stock shortages thats the majority of people. I tested it and it worked perfectly.

    Other thing I noticed is even though I switch my phone to GSM auto, it connects at HSDPA much more, where as I was stuck at G far more before. I don't know what O2 bloatware is as there wasn't any I could see on 2.1 anyway. So I could live with not getting another update.

    You do have to add the mobile web APN and modify the Type so it gets the A-GPS data tho.
     
  7. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    yesterday, my insurance on it has a 14days no claims policy so at the moment im not playing about too much
     

Share This Page

Loading...