O2 samsung galaxy update troublesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. jefflimna

    jefflimna New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, i'm using a UK O2 samsung galaxy and i'm trying to upgrade the firmware on it (hopefully to improve battery life).

    However when i plug the phone into my laptop the NPS software doesn't recognise that there is a phone attached and instead tells me i have 2 mass storage devices connected (an F and an E drive).

    Does anyone know why this might be? and more importantly how to fix it so i can do the upgrade?

    Any help will be gratefuly received (especially if it's in simple language i can understand ;))

    I'm using :
    Windows XP, NPS 1.4.0 IL2,
    and the phone is running:
    firmware version 1.5 (i think this is actually the android build), kernal 2.6.27 hudson@andy #1, Baseband version I7500XXIH6


    Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere, i was unable to find anything relating to this using the search function.

    Cheers,
    jeff
     

    Advertisement
  2. Naruvam

    Naruvam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    7
    Basicly NPS is crap if u want to update read stickie's about flashing with odin
     
  3. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    it should still update with nps to ik4
    disconnect the device
    uninstall nps
    reinstall nps
    before connecting to phone make sure you turn on developer mode (settings, application, devoloper)
    this should allow it to install the drivers correctly when you connect the device.

    NPS does not work for synching with IL2 it will only work for updating
     
  4. jefflimna

    jefflimna New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the info, i'll give it a try. and if that doesn't work i guess i'll look into using odin.

    jeff
     
  5. itba

    itba New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    In "Settings, About Phone, Additional Settings"- deselect Mass Storage Only and NPS will detect your phone.
     
  6. jefflimna

    jefflimna New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for th info guys, i've tried adjusting the settings and reinstalling the NPC.
    And now NPC does recognise that the phone is there!! :)

    However when i go into the update bit in NPC and select the phone to update a window pops open and tells me that it can't connect to the server!

    any ideas? (i was fully connected to the internet with the firewall and antivirus switched off)

    jeff
     
  7. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    odd it should have pulled an update.
    server might have been too busy at the time
     
  8. Saint2710

    Saint2710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    3
    I too have had this problem with connecting to NPS for the update, been talking to O2 and Samsung, I was told that there is an issue with the update firmware part of the NPS and they are trying to resolve it (along with Windows 7 support). I was advised to take my phone to a service centre under guarantee and they would update the firmware for me. It is still with them as it had to go back to Samsung. :(
    I'll let you know when I get it back..
     
  9. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    should of used odin and flashed ik4 which is o2 official software
    all samsung do is use odin lol, its their tool
     
  10. jefflimna

    jefflimna New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help, the NPS software did work the second time round. The phone's updated and working nicely.

    Thanks for the help :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...