Odd behavior of shift key in full QWERTY


Last Updated:

  1. armandov99

    armandov99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hey all, I tried searching for a while but can't find anything about it.

    When trying to write acronyms of 2-3 letters that I want to capitalize, I keep getting a z entered when I hit the shift key for the 2nd and 3rd letters. It only happens if I type quickly.

    I can re-create this problem mid-sentence. Say I want to type "LA" ... I hit shift, hit L (an "L" then gets input) and quickly hit shift again, but instead of getting a shift I get a z typed in! The popup by my finger even indicates I hit the shift key, so it's not like my calibration is off, it just inputs a z instead for no reason at all.

    Anyone else encountered this? I can't be the only one typing it this fast...or am I missing something here?? It's really annoying having to slow down...
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jooby510

    Jooby510 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had the same problem, but no fix. I've just resorted to slowing down when typing something like this.
     
  3. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    33
    You actually hit the Z then shift. I tried typing fast and find that if you don't pay attention and press exactly on the shift then you will hit Z (right next to it) then shift. Since you are going fast the pop-up will not be able to keep up so it skips the Z pop-up.

    Patience is the key.
     
  4. armandov99

    armandov99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    Glad to hear I'm not the only one with this issue.

    But I do know for a fact I'm not hitting the Z key. If it simply skipped the Z key pop up I might understand, but it's actually putting a Z into my text entry field without me lifting my finger off the screen. This makes no sense. Nothing should input until I LIFT my finger off...know what I mean?

    It's most definitely a glitch, I'm just surprised I haven't read about it more...
     
  5. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    33
    When you press on any letter, it does indeed appear on screen.

    Sorry but you are hitting it. I have been working on this since and now can hit the shift without touching the Z. Remember they are very close, if say an "I" came up then I would believe that it is a glitch. When I was working on this an "A" came up as well.
     
  6. armandov99

    armandov99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes, it appears on the screen, but it does not get INPUT. Say, for example, you push down on "g" and move your finger to "a" ... the "g" disappears and turns into an "a" and the "a" is then entered when you lift your finger.

    In this case, I haven't lifted my finger at all, and the "z" is input and DONE while I'm stuck holding down shift with a popup. If I type another letter, I get that letter capitalized. So, it means somehow I managed to INPUT a "z" AND a SHIFT both with ONE touch of the screen, how can that be normal?

    Trust me, I'm NOT touching the "z" and then moving over to shift. The Z is being input maybe due to how the screen works, maybe due to multitouch, I don't know. But what I AM certain of is that I'm NOT hitting Z at all. Trust me. I can sit there and hit shift a hundred times but the second I hit another key and hit shift again quickly, the next time shift is hit a Z is input. My guess is it's to do with multitouch.
     
  7. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267

    Maybe it's time for you head back to the Sprint store? It's possible that you got a defective Hero. have them look at it. This reccomendation is due to the apparent fact that no one else has been reporting this behavior.
     

Share This Page

Loading...