Odd GoogleMaps / GPS phenomenon...


Last Updated:

  1. kbayer

    kbayer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    32
    Since I've had the phone now for a little over a month, about half the time that I start up Maps, it shows "My Position" as being at a house I lived at about a year ago, which is about an hour drive from where I live now. Back then, I was not with Verizon, but with ATT.

    After a minte or so on Maps, it brings up my correct position.

    That changed about 4 days ago when I recieved a signal extender that was ordered from Verizon. Now, Maps starts up showing that I'm near a golf course in Canyon Lake, California.

    About 3 minutes later, it corrects itself.

    What could be triggering that? :confused:
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement
  2. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    Looks like a nice golf course at least. You should play 9 when you're there :p


    Seriously though, have you done the "GPS configure" trick where you turn the phone 3 times on each axis? Supposedly that will help GPS lock on.
     
  3. kbayer

    kbayer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    32
    Yeah... I've done that and I think it pops back to my actual location faster, but it still starts up each time afterward showing California. I zoomed in as far as it allowed and it shows that it's a Dry Cleaner business.

    Maybe I should cal them, huh? They'ld think I was nuts.

    Then again, it would be weird if they said that they once had a Droid, but sent it back, and -- cue Twilight Zone theme...:eek:
     
  4. Nicks88

    Nicks88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    59
    I do believe that is to calibrate your accelerometer, not GPS.
     
  5. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
  6. Nicks88

    Nicks88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    59
  7. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603

    Hehe yep, whatever works I guess. My GPS has been fine but I do still knock on wood occasionally.
     
  8. Nicks88

    Nicks88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    59
    Sometimes mine gets a bit crazy sometimes, but then I just talk nice to it and pet it. It seems to like that.
     
  9. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    lol
     
  10. kbayer

    kbayer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    32
    Mine vibrates when it's happy...:rolleyes:
     
  11. Soultics

    Soultics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    12
    My GPS shows me off the coast of Baja California Sur, I guess I've been spending some time in Cabo. It updates pretty fast usually...but lately its getting worse.
     
  12. kbayer

    kbayer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    32
    Maybe we got Droids made from recycled parts... Droid-reincarnation, maybe?
     
  13. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    95
    The problem you are dealing with, FYI, is not a GPS problem, but rather, it is a google maps problem.

    google blames it on your phone switching from GPS to aGPS, which uses cell towers to triangulate your position rather than satellites to pinpoint it. Mine, however, was always far outside of the radius indicator.

    If you want to see what I mean, then try gps tracker by instamapper. It is dead accurate. It doesn't work for navigation, but it will show you just what I am talking about.
     
  14. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603

    How's Cabo this this time of year? :)
     
  15. ubergray

    ubergray New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    This may be happening because your router was given a GPS position [c.f. skyhook] and the droid is logging location based upon that.
     
  16. kbayer

    kbayer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    32
    So you think, (of all things), maybe I should try a new router? It would make sense as it was the same router I had before I moved to where I am now. Why would it remember that? But then why would it be showing a California address all of a sudden? It's never been there -- at least, not as far as I know...
     
  17. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    Might as well try the 3 turn trick at least. Even if it isnt related, it certianly wont do you any harm,
     
  18. ubergray

    ubergray New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I must have misread earlier for I thought you said it was giving you a GPS location corresponding to where you lived before. In any event, you can go to SKYHOOK and program in your router location -- it should not help though.
     
  19. kbayer

    kbayer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    32
    Yes... you are right. It WAS doing that for the whole time I've had it (booting up and going to the place I used to live, about an hour away).
    However, I got the extender about 5 days ago, and now Maps boots up, showing that I'm now at a california Dry Cleaning Company.

    I drove away from my house yesterday with it, watching Maps, and I was about 2 miles from home when it finally corrected itself.

    When I got home, I opened Maps again, and it booted up straight back to the Dry Cleaners.

    Maybe I should just move to California.:eek:
     
  20. metalimi

    metalimi Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    I was sitting in Dulles airport, but my droid was convinced I was in the middle of Germany. I had some fun with that and my friends on latitude. I had them convinced I was sitting in a German pub drinking!
     

Share This Page

Loading...