Official 2.2 SBF Brightness Problem Thread


Last Updated:

  1. dabomb224

    dabomb224 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    26
    Long story short, I ran the 2.2 SBF a short time ago, rooted and installed Apex. I immediately noticed that no matter what I changed my brightness settings to, after a short time with the screen off, the brightness level would automatically jump up on its own. I thought that the problem might have been Apex, so I switched to Rubix. Same problem.

    Finally, I grew tired of tinkering around in an effort to fix the problem, and I re-flashed the 2.2 full sbf. Cleared Data/Cache. Rebooted.

    Upon booting for the first time, I downloaded a brightness widget and set it to 25% (autobrightness off). I waited for 5 minutes with the screen off, and then unlocked the phone. Much to my dismay, the screen was once again brighter than it should have been (tested by opening up the brightness widget, seeing it still set to 25%, and then reclicking the 25% brightness button and watching the screen dim significantly).

    I have now pretty much narrowed the problem down to the 2.2 sbf itself (since even after flashing the sbf, the problem persists). I never had this problem on the 2.2 leak. Could my 2.2 full sbf (The Gift 2, 400+ MB) itself be bad, or is this just a universal problem with the 2.2 sbf?
     

    Advertisement
  2. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Did you try a factory reset? It seems to me that going from a custom rom to OTA could carry some baggage. Also did you try clearing the 2nd cache in CW Recovery, under advanced?
     
  3. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    There are quite a few people who have reported the brightness issue and it does not seem to be ROM specific.
     
  4. dabomb224

    dabomb224 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    26
    When re-flashing the 2.2 full sbf, I made sure to wipe data/factory reset. I also cleared the cache separately, and then cleared the Dalvik cache as well. Nothing helped. This is obviously related to the 2.2 sbf, but I'll be damned if I understand why one person might run the 2.2 sbf and have issues, and another might not.
     
  5. dabomb224

    dabomb224 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    26
    Has anyone else here noticed any issues related to this? It would help to know who is or isn't experiencing this glitch, what upgrade path that person chose (2.2 sbf, or 2.1 to 2.2 OTA update), and what version they came from (2.2 leak, 2.1, or 2.2 OTA w/ a 2.2 sbf used after).
     
  6. dabomb224

    dabomb224 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    26
    God I just want this glitch gone. I have sbf-ed and factory reset and wiped caches so many frigging times and still it persists. Why me and not the rest of the majority of those who upgraded using the 2.2 sbf? I've even contacted Motorola, but apparently this issue is so rare that no one has any answers.

    If there is ANYONE else with this problem, did upgrading to the new leak fix it? I've gone from almost 5 hours of screen on time on the leak to less than half of that, unless I readjust the brightness level constantly.
     
  7. javroch

    javroch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    46
    To be honest, I don't think most people turn auto-brightness off. Also, you really always should upgrade using the OTA itself and not the SBF to be safe, at least if you want the OTA the way that Motorola intended on giving it to you. I've never noticed anything, I was on the leak for a while, downgraded back to 2.1, and took the 2.2 OTA.

    Just a word of caution, taking the new leak, is probably not the answer, but rather digging yourself even further deeper into a hole. There's only a system SBF and I've read of people having lots of issues. Why do you hate auto-brightness so much anyway?
     
  8. dabomb224

    dabomb224 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    26
    Sorry if I wasn't clear, but I never mentioned this glitch being related to auto-brightness. The frustrating thing about this is that the brightness is jumping up on its own with auto-brightness turned off.

    Meaning that if I set my brightness to a static setting of 2% (again, no auto-brightness) and turn the screen off for a few minutes, upon turning it back on again it will jump up to somewhere around 16-20%.

    If I do attempt to use auto-brightness, the glitch responds differently. Specifically, once I power the screen off and on (w/ auto-brightness set to on), the brightness will become stuck at a certain level (what level it gets stuck at seems to be random). Once stuck, the backlight no longer changes in response to changes in ambient light. Cover the light sensor, or put the phone under a bright lamp: neither stimuli change the brightness level.

    So as you can see, I'm damned if I use auto-brightness, and damned if I don't. The strangest thing is that there must have been many, many others out there who upgraded using the 2.2 sbf just like I did, without encountering this problem. Could it be the steps I took during my SBF? I just put the phone into bootloader mode, flashed the sbf, factory reset/wipe cache, and reboot.

    Am I missing something here?
     
  9. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    I used the 2.2 sbf when coming off a rom, but then restored my original 2.2 backup.

    I don't have this issue.
     
  10. javroch

    javroch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    46
    Why do you assume that many many people upgraded from 2.1 using the sbf? In fact, I'd assume the opposite. I think most people took the OTA from Verizon, as I think is the recommended upgrade procedure, not the SBF. As well, I understood what you meant about how you turn auto-brightness off. I don't experience any issues with auto-brightness set to on at all as far as I can tell. And, I don't currently experience the issue if I set it to static either, I tried earlier. Just thought, I'd let you know my set up and my results.
     
  11. someotherguy

    someotherguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    22
    I'm in the same boat.

    Was on 2.3.15 leak.
    Wipe Cache - Factory Reset - 2.2 SBF - Wipe Cache - Factory Reset - Focus 1.8.9

    Brightness does whatever the heck it wants. No matter what I put it at.
     
  12. dabomb224

    dabomb224 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    26
    Hmm, so thus far it seems to be an sbf related issue (with one who flashed sbf but restored the OTA nandroid who doesn't have a problem).

    Maybe it's specifically related to using the 2.2 sbf on top of the old Froyo leak? Don't know how that could be, but I suppose it's something to go on.
     
  13. dabomb224

    dabomb224 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    26
    Now that the full sbf for the new leak is out, if someone experiencing this problem upgrades, please let me know if it fixes the issue.
     
    bobomatic likes this.
  14. dabomb224

    dabomb224 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    26
    UPDATE: The new OTA .340 did NOT fix this. Motorola Customer Support also gave me a big verbal shrug.

    Next contract is definitely going to Samsung or HTC. Screw this.
     
  15. tom108

    tom108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    309
    i tested this over the course of 2 days. i turned my brightness all the way down and for 2 days it stayed that way.
     
  16. dabomb224

    dabomb224 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    26

    If you could, please try testing it at 25% brightness. Both myself and other sufferers of this bug have found that 0% brightness settings hold for some reason (they're not affected by the glitch). I suggest 25% because it makes it easy to test with a brightness widget. Simply click the 25% setting, wait for approximately 5 minutes with the screen off, and then try click the 25% brightness button again. If the glitch happened, you should notice your screen dim (although you'd likely already have noticed your screen being brighter than it should have been).
     
  17. tom108

    tom108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    309
    i will and i will report back to this thread.
     
    dabomb224 likes this.
  18. bobomatic

    bobomatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    17
    I've always thought there was something up with the auto brightness. When I go into the settings and toggle off and back on, without changing the setting. The screen always gets dimmer until the screen turns off and when turned back on its brighter. (in the same light environment)
     
  19. dabomb224

    dabomb224 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    26
    With the autobrightness half of the glitch, I've noticed that after a screen lock, it will smoothly ramp up the brightness from dim to very bright, and then never drop back down. Im going to go out on a limb and guess that this is a problem with a Motorola software modification, as there doesn't seem to be any reports of it on any other Froyo phone.

    This is what happens when you try to fix something that isn't broken.
     

Share This Page

Loading...