Official: GPS fix is being pushed out


Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Last Updated:

  1. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    I just got off the phone with AT&T Business a moment ago. Here's the latest update:

    I buddied up with the tech guy for another issue and before I let him go, I chatted with him a bit about the GPS issue. He said he knew of nothing but I had perked his own curiosity, so he said if I was willing to be put on hold for a while he had a direct line to Samsung and he'd inquire. I said of course.

    I was on hold a very long time. Got a bit worried. But then he came back and said he had all sorts of info for me...

    First he said he had to be transferred all over the place, including the Philippines, before he got someone at Samsung in the USA to talk to. He said he only inquired about updates, and not specific reasons/bugs. He said the Samsung tech said that right before his shift closed last night he got the official corporate word about a "V2" update to be pushed out to the Captivate phones to address "the known GPS issue". He said that it should be rolling out already randomly to groups of about 10,000 sets a day. You will receive a pop-up notification about the update (assuming you haven't rooted, of course).

    I got his permission to spread this info around. So hopefully this is reassuring to lots of you. :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. kashifk

    kashifk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Wow this is great news bec this fix will make a good phone great imo. The settings page does have a "check for updates" and right now im quite tempted to check it lol
     
  3. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Careful: You can only force a check for updates once every 24 hours.

    Also: I forgot to mention that I did specifically ask the AT&T tech about if the Samsung guy mentioned any other fixes included the fix, and he said Samsung didn't mention any others, so don't expect that this is necessarily going to address any other issues (although it's possible).
     
  4. jmreed97

    jmreed97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    5

    God I hope this is all true!!! Good news though! I wonder if this is happening with the Vibrant as well (my wife is with T-mobile and I talked her into getting it before I was aware of all the GPS problems - two phones no GPS).

    Edit: I don't know if we can call this "official." It is double hearsay at best. Crossing my fingers!!
     
  5. Coppanuva

    Coppanuva Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    7
    So people who have rooted, but not installed a custom ROM, won't get the update then?
     
  6. tysj

    tysj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    6
    Now we just need confirmations of people actually getting the update :p
     
  7. jmreed97

    jmreed97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well I tried it and got an error of "unable to contact At&t's servers." Tried it again and it say I have to wait 24 hours... Damn!

    Guess what I'm gonna do at noon tomorrow?
     
  8. jmreed97

    jmreed97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    5
    My understanding is you can get the updates with root but you might lose root in the process.
     
  9. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    My understanding of the rooting process is that it disables the push down of vendor updates.

    I don't root though so if this is wrong I'll correct the first post, but I've read as much in countless threads that that is a side-effect of rooting. Such as here:
    Why Root - Android Wiki
     
    Coppanuva likes this.
  10. jblaze5779

    jblaze5779 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    9
    sweet
     
  11. jmreed97

    jmreed97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    5
    I stand corrected... I haven't rooted yet so I guess all is good for me.:D
     
  12. thindery

    thindery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    64
    Wow this is awesome news. I really hope this is correct. It will make me feel so much more comfortable about this phone. I wish Samsung would just come out and say "We know there is an issue... Updates are already rolling out fix the issue." Is that too hard!?
     
  13. Coppanuva

    Coppanuva Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hmm ok then. Well, I suppose I can live without it, oh well. Interesting to know though.

    Edit: Also, do you know what kind of pop-up to expect? I just got an update for google maps, but I rooted my phone and don't know if maps had an update anyways or not.
     
  14. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Well I can assure you that my conversation with AT&T took place as-described, and I have no reason to believe he was lying to me about talking to Samsung while I was on-hold forever. :)

    At this point, we're taking Samsung's word on this basically. But it was significant and specific-enough info that I feel it is legit.

    As far as Samsung making the announcement... I think in this case it's more of a thing left delegated to the carrier (AT&T) to decide to announce, as the Captivate is an AT&T-branded and modified Samsung phone. But I'm just guessing here. And also, they might keep this low-key in order to not give a poor impression of the device and affect sales. Only mentioning it if someone inquires, etc.
     
  15. jmreed97

    jmreed97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    5
    I just looked in my notification bar and it said "4 updates available"

    YEAH!!!:D:D:D I did a happy dance in my living room!

    Let see, c:geo, google maps, my paper airplane, and droid jump.

    DAMN IT!!! No "Samsung fix your sh*ty GPS" update! :mad:
     
  16. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Those are app updates, that's the Marketplace notifying you of that.

    To force a check for system updates:

    Menu -> Settings -> Software Update -> Check for update

    But you can only force a check once every 24 hours. Otherwise you have to wait for a push.
     
  17. t-readyroc

    t-readyroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    80
    Just ran the check-for-update & got bupkis. Guess I'll have to try to wait patiently.
     
  18. jmreed97

    jmreed97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah I figured that out... But you can imagine my initial excitement, then disappointment when I realize it was just app updates.

    I will patiently wait for a PUSH and not so patiently manually check every 24 hours.
     
  19. dontshakepandas

    dontshakepandas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    8
    If this is true, how will those of us with root go about getting the update?
     
  20. emuneee

    emuneee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    31
    Someone is going to have to capture the update.zip. We can then update using this zip file. ;)
     
  21. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Not really sure. :( As much as I might love to rid myself of the crap stock AT&T apps, this very issue is a big reason I've resisted the urge to root.

    The gains aren't worth the losses (yet), at least in my situation.
     
  22. jmreed97

    jmreed97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    5
    Did you get an error like me? Or did it just say no updates?
     
  23. AuthorityAction

    AuthorityAction New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    b0bfath3r likes this.
  24. t-readyroc

    t-readyroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    80
    Just said no updates available at this time; something like that.
     
  25. A.VOID

    A.VOID Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    DMInitialization is not ready when i check (rooted)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...