Official MetroPCS BYOD discussion thread


Last Updated:

  1. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    This is the new BYOD thread to discuss only BYOD. If its about Metro branded GSM devices or part of the network not pertaining to BYOD please post in that thread.

     

    Advertisement
  2. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    To get a fully compatible BYOD these are the bands it should have.
    LTE - 1700/2100 (AWS)

    HSPA+ | 1700/2100 (AWS), in some areas where they have refarmed the network 1900MHz (PCS) will be compatible. See below for list of refarmed areas.

    GSM | 1900MHz (PCS)

    List of refarmed areas as of 3/15:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Atlanta, GA
    Austin, TX
    Baltimore, MD.
    Boston, Mass.
    Cambridge, Mass.
    Chicago, IL
    Dallas, TX
    Denver, CO
    Detroit, MI
    Ft Lauderdale, FL
    Ft Worth, TX
    Fresno, CA
    Houston, TX
    Kansas City, Kan./Mo.
    Las Vegas, NV
    Los Angeles, CA
    Miami, FL
    Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn.
    Modesto, CA
    Napa, CA
    New York, NY
    Newark, NJ
    Oakland, CA
    Orlando, FL
    Philadelphia, Penn.
    Phoenix, AZ
    Providence, RI
    Reno, NV
    Richmond, VA
    Sacramento, CA
    Salinas, CA
    San Antonio, TX
    San Diego, CA
    San Francisco, CA
    San Jose, CA
    Santa Ana, CA
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Santa Rosa, CS
    Seattle, Wash.
    Springfield, Mass.
    St. Cloud, Minn.
    Stockton, CA
    Tampa, FL
    Tucson, AZ
    Vallejo, CA
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Warren, Mich.
    Washington, D.C.







    Can also use http://www.airportal.de/

    Even the ones on the metro website aren't fully compatible, if unsure post here and we'll all be happy to help
     
  3. bigmets31

    bigmets31 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an AT&T Samsung Galaxy S4 waiting to bring over to Metro PCS once I can do the BYOP. Will the phone's connectivity be just as good as the T-Mobile/Metro PCS version? Specs - AT&T Cell Phones SGH-I337 | Samsung Cell Phones
     
  4. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    You would be able to get LTE and HSPA. HSPA would only be in refarmed areas though. Only difference is metro version gets HSPA everywhere available
     
  5. Zolo185

    Zolo185 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    53
    Sooo hspa+ will eork in miami,fl ? Or just the lte ?
     
  6. Slickinator

    Slickinator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    14
    Nexus 4 master race for me soon when BYOD hits Sac. :D
     
  7. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    As soon as they expand the metro BYOD to Miami You will be able to get HSPA+ and LTE, through tmo towers and network.
     
    mike28 likes this.
  8. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    Full access to tmo native network
     
  9. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    11
    Sometime this week I am going to take my unlocked samsung galaxy s2 skyrocket 4g to a mom and pop metro store in many area. (Atlanta Market). I was wondering weekday do you pay up front. Iknow $10 for the SIM. $15 for activation fee. And I heard something about having to pay for your first month of service. But does paying the first month's service apply to current metropcd customer or my customers?
     
  10. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    Metros prepaid so you pay in advance
     
  11. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    11
    So I would have to pay $25 plus whatever plan I get first month's bill. Iam a current customer.
     
  12. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    Oh then no you don't have to pay the whole months bill but if you go from like a $55 plan to $60 you'll have to pay $5
     
    BigKeenan likes this.
  13. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    11
    Do corporate stores charge the $15 dollar activation fee?
     
  14. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    11
    These are the galaxy i727 stats. Which networks would I actually have access to. LTE? EDGE? HSPA+?
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    Should get LTE and you would have access to HSPA+ in refarmed areas
     
    BigKeenan likes this.
  16. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    That phone has LTE in the AWS band 4 but it does not have HSPA + in band 4.
    It looks like Atlanta Ga is in the refarmed market though so you should get HSPA on 1900.
    It may not depending on your exact location though.

    So you may be on edge at times.
     
    BigKeenan likes this.
  17. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    I didn't think they charged the activation fee for BYOD but i'll go double check
     
    BigKeenan likes this.
  18. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    11

    SO NO LTE:confused:
     
  19. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    With the specs you posted if LTE is available you would get LTE
     
    BigKeenan likes this.
  20. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    yes that phone would pick up LTE as long as its in your market.

    It just would not have tmo's hspa aws. it does have LTE AWS.
     
    BigKeenan likes this.
  21. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7,289
    Likes Received:
    2,503
    So what specifics do we know to be factual? Moving sim from phone to phone, which lte is used, etc....

    I know this stuff was discussed but it's buried in the other thread. Maybe have a fact section in the OP for the stuff mpcs doesn't tell you and people always ask about.

    Keep up the good work G. You've offered a lot of knowledge for everyone. ;)
     
    Gman9831 and mike28 like this.
  22. $ilver$urfer

    $ilver$urfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    9
    When that happens,

    [​IMG]

    Now the question is how longer do we in the south have to wait?
     
  23. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    Hopefully not much longer
     
  24. SpartanJ59

    SpartanJ59 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    5
    At first I thought it was my rom, but I went on facebook and everyone I know who has Metro didn't have service either. I'm in the Dallas/Fort Worth area.

    *This is on my spirit
     
  25. ferretflip

    ferretflip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    16
    Funny... last night I didn't completely lose service, but it dropped from full service of 3G to 2 bars of 1x. Thought it was just because of my house. Maybe it's the HSPA+ switch?
     
  26. Barnitzn

    Barnitzn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answer
    I was wondering if the Nexus 5x would work with MetroPCS's BYOD. I know it's not a compatible phone on the website, but I saw on some forums the Nexus 5 works even though it's not compatible, but I wasn't sure if I could use the 5x with their BYOD plan.
     
    alfick3 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...