Official MetroPCS BYOD discussion thread


Last Updated:

  1. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    No unfortunately. it will still require a trip to the store.
    I was not aware you wanted the att phone today, or I would have warned you, get it from the website, or some online vender while it surprises me they will turn down all that money they expect you to just roll over and get a plan, thus getting even more money from you.:(
     

    Advertisement
    divagirl likes this.
  2. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    Verizon cant lock their phones only block they can actually do on theirs is locking the APN setting
     
  3. youngtjjones

    youngtjjones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    8
    To the people that are currently using byod, were you guys able to use metro's 4g Lte too?
     
  4. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    No I dont have it but theirs no way possible BYOD sims can get on metro LTE just by looking at the APN's
     
    youngtjjones likes this.
  5. divagirl

    divagirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    48
    Right! I call 2 different stores and I explain what I wanted to accomplish...not once did anyone say that I had to be a customer....the sales rep said that I could have my daughter pick it up since she is a at&t customer...thank God my Daughter was at work today!!!:)....I think that I made the Right decision in the long run and saved a nice penny!!! So Im happy!!!:D Thank you for all the help;)
     
  6. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have a skyrocket from att on the byod program and it works excellent. It gets 4gLte, 4g ( which I'm guessing is hspa), and edge.
     
  7. youngtjjones

    youngtjjones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    8
    That kind of sucks because T-Mobile lte is not everywhere yet :(
     
  8. youngtjjones

    youngtjjones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    8
    Which plan do you have by the way?
     
  9. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    441
    I think T-Mobile lte is everywhere metro PCs lte is.
     
  10. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    I dont mean lock the phone, that is easy to defeat in most cases anyway.
    I mean they specifiy radio's without competitors frequency.
    Att locks, or does without HSPA AWS. verizon does not have any frequencies att or t mobile use, just international frequencies.

    Your in a refarmed area try leaving the refarmed tower behind and you will find edge speed.
    and Nothing wrong with refarmed if your in that area. I hope your on LTE most of the time as that will be better. t mo AWS HSPA is faster then the refarmed HSPA.
     
  11. youngtjjones

    youngtjjones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    8
    They actually don't. Certain places in Georgia, like the area I will live in, Lawrenceville, T-Mobile has not set up there lte there yet metro does :(
     
  12. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    11
  13. youngtjjones

    youngtjjones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    8
    Why do you think it sucks?
     
  14. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    Look at almost a lot of Michigan metro has LTE but tmo has EDGE or maybe even GPRS
     
    divagirl likes this.
  15. n4zty

    n4zty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,302
    Likes Received:
    1,700
    T-metro has released byod in tampa well atleast in my zip 33624 i have two byod sim cards i went to a dealer next to my house to see if my friend there had a tmobile phone that i could use to check if once inseting the metro simcard if the phone would show signal. he told me oh yea they just got their shipment of byod sim cards so no need to wonder. wooooot!
     
  16. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    Just got the text about 10 mins ago

     
  17. n4zty

    n4zty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,302
    Likes Received:
    1,700
    [​IMG]

    pick your flavor the only one i didnt get was the nano for the iphones but i dont care about iphones so pfffft!

    credits to MurphysCellRepair check out his youtube channels!

    also would like to confirm that yes u may transfer number/account to a byod phone but grandfathered in plans such as the $55 unlimited plan will go out the window but for $5 more u get the same perks so not a big deal.
     
  18. youngtjjones

    youngtjjones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    8
    Wait are you saying you bought the sim card and you did not need metro to activate the phone for you? You just stick the sim inside the phone with no issues?
     
    divagirl likes this.
  19. n4zty

    n4zty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,302
    Likes Received:
    1,700
    Well u can buy the cards without activating I haven't tried it yet on a phone I gotta get ahold of tmobile phone. I just have them for testing purposes.
     
  20. for2njr

    for2njr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    35
    I thought you have an unlocked GS4? Now that our ASAP has been BYOD-enabled, PM me your SIM's ID and your phone's IMEI and I'll gladly activate & pair them for you! :)
     
    n4zty and youngtjjones like this.
  21. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    57
    I went to a store and they have byod in orlando but no use for me as im waiting for note 3 down the line..
     
  22. stuntiNIN0

    stuntiNIN0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    24
    lol this is great, BYOD comes this week and i got rid of the Tmo s4 i had sitting for over a month.

    Oh well, for the case of the s4 i'd rather get the metro version, but for those wanting to attempt other phones great news
     
  23. mike28

    mike28 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,065
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    I took the tmobile gs4 because of the easy finance options once I pay it off in a about two months will switch back to metro to save a few bucks and keep enjoying lte /hspa :D
     
  24. Vyrus69

    Vyrus69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    80
    I'm thinking of getting a Nexus 4 or possibly just waiting for the Moto X, which is rumored to be announced AND available starting Thursday.
     
  25. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    441
    I vote moto X I still wish to be the 1st one on metro PCs in Detroit with it
     

Share This Page

Loading...