Official MetroPCS BYOD discussion thread


Last Updated:

  1. flblue

    flblue Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahh ok, thanks for the heads up ,I didn't think of that. Soooo I'm ok if I buy a brand new one from AT&T for retail price, then take it to Metro PCS, my local retail store will unlock it for $30.
     

    Advertisement
  2. b20beast

    b20beast Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    14
    The term is buy "outright"... check amazon. Could be cheaper

    Sent from my LG-MS770 using Tapatalk 4
     
    Twin Prime likes this.
  3. b20beast

    b20beast Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    14
    Cheapest way to pay outright from At&t is over the phone

    Sent from my LG-MS770 using Tapatalk 4
     
  4. iamsirlurkalot

    iamsirlurkalot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    17
    if you're 100% sure you will be getting a BYOD phone i would suggest buying a Sim card ($10) then inserting it into the phone and calling *228 and try getting it hooked up, if they say their not able or theres a problem (not unlocked) then dont buy it.
     
  5. Bishop99

    Bishop99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    17
    A few months have passed since this program went into effect. Has anyone been able to confirm if the T-Mobile have to be unlocked for the BYOD plan. I unlocked my T-Mobile Galaxy S4 before bringing it in. Just curious.
     
  6. the hulk

    the hulk Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    186
    it's pointless, we confirmed that the sim just has to be tied to the IMEI via IMEI/ESN/MEID swap prior to inserting SIM, if it is already in the new phone, just restart and it will work, again, that is only on t-mobile branded devices, except for the G1, I had to unlock it, that's the only one I have come across with that issue.
     
    Twin Prime and Bishop99 like this.
  7. dportal2006

    dportal2006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    88
    I am looking to buy an iphone 5s from t mobile and want to use it on the metro in a couple of months. Is that even possible to do here in Miami yet?
     
  8. mike28

    mike28 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,065
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    Yes it's avaliable
     
  9. the hulk

    the hulk Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    186
    yes.
     
    mike28 likes this.
  10. flblue

    flblue Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought the Samsung Galaxy Mega from Sams, AT&T phone, my local Metro PCS store unlocked it and switched it over to Metro PCS, no problems so far, very easy and hassle free change over. 4G and 4G LTE shows on the screen when available. I seem to be getting better signals also in places I wasn't before ie inside buildings and at the beach.

    Love the phone, it's really a little too big but I'm getting used to it and it does fit in your pocket. I have the Otterbox Defender on it so that makes it even bigger but you have to have a good case on these phones as they crack if you just look at them. I'm getting used to the size though, viewing area is important to me over the pen that comes with the Note 2 and 3 that I will never use, and people I know who have the Note 2 rarely if ever use the pen.

    I've gone through the AT&T apps and stopped the updates on them, it won't let me delete them but I've removed them from view.

    I get the latest phone, the T Mobile signal with the Metro price....very happy! :)
     
  11. kiroshi23

    kiroshi23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    31
    my phone died recently and im holding out for the nexus. But im concerned about it being able to connect on the metro network. i know the n4 can but some new phones on tmobile haven't made it across yet like the lg g2.

    does it need to be on the list to connect or can any tmobile phone work.
     
  12. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    It'll work once it supports tmobile.
     
  13. kiroshi23

    kiroshi23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    31
    so i might not be able to connect it first week of release or yea
     
  14. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    I'm 99.99% sure you'll be able to connect release day
     
    kiroshi23 likes this.
  15. kiroshi23

    kiroshi23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    31
    im holding you to it ;)
     
  16. the hulk

    the hulk Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    186
    did you see all the confirmed stuff in the BYOD about the nexus device?
     
  17. iamsirlurkalot

    iamsirlurkalot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    17
    im also 99% sure it will support Tmobile/Metro, would be silly not to have one of the major carriers able to use it

    also the LG G2 IS available from T-Mobile Search Results | T-Mobile
     
  18. kiroshi23

    kiroshi23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    31
    yea i was asking if metro would let me us it because the lg g2 is on big t but i dont see it on the metro list
     
  19. the hulk

    the hulk Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    186
    I know how blasphemous this sounds(I dont really care lol), but I'm sure someone is curious, I am testing my AT&T Iphone 4S on the BYOD, and that SOB is picking up 4G lol, just thought it was cool.
     
  20. dportal2006

    dportal2006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    88
    Are you sure? I thought the 4s did not have 4G available.
     
  21. the hulk

    the hulk Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    186

    What kind of question is that if I'm sure? Of course I am, I wouldn't post it if it wasn't true. I didn't say LTE, I said 4G.
     
  22. the hulk

    the hulk Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    186
    [​IMG]

    There you go
     
  23. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    PCS speedtest? Havent seen what refarmed HSPA is like down here
     
  24. the hulk

    the hulk Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    186
    [​IMG]

    There you go
     
  25. the hulk

    the hulk Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    186
    Like I said no complaint till my 5s comes, unless the note 3 makes me turn around
     

Share This Page

Loading...