• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Official New to Android Thread (coming from iPhone)

amaranojr

Lurker
Feb 13, 2011
i didnt see a thread like this so if there is, mods delete it.

im coming from Apple. Had every iphone since the original one. In between ive had only a blackberry bold for a short amount of time before going from the 3G to 3GS. Now i went from the iPhone 4 to this. Im really liking it. For other apple jumpers ill post my pros/cons as well as apps ive downloaded.

Pros:
-huge screen.
-so easy to use. since im brand new to android i have no prior knowledge but ive been able to pick up on everything because i feel like whatever i think the phone should do it already does.
-htc sense
-google chat
-widgets. i love being able to just slide to the left screen and activate my wifi. so simple. the google widget and youtube widget are great as well.
-navigation. actually does turn by turn outloud. im not sure if this is a trial or its free, can someone confirm?
-LOVE that i can sync my music through itunes wirelessly through iSyncr Wifi Lite

Cons:
-Battery. i dont know if i have a faulty battery or i just use my phone too much...but the iphone 4's battery honestly blows this one away. Came off a full charge 2 hours ago and im down to 80% battery life. my screen display brightness is set to around 30% and my screen is set to time out after 30 seconds. through battery indicator it says that 75% of my battery use is just from the display????!
-SCREEN SHOTS/CAPTURES- a big form of my communication between friends was through screen shots. funny things mostly i was able to just simply screen shot and send...i cant do that anymore now.
-Internet Speeds- i feel like my iphone 4 was faster on the internet. kind of upsetting since this phone has 4G in its name. i understand the whole 4g speeds dilemma, but it should be at least AS FAST as the iphone.