Official Release Candidate 2.1 Rom Question


Last Updated:

  1. aplacetorest

    aplacetorest Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im have never rooted a phone or anything before, but the installer seems pretty standard. Plug in your phone, let it run. I didnt do it yet. But i have the program, and i was wondering, if i do this, will i be able to install the final release of 2.1 when Sprint releases it as well?
     

    Advertisement
  2. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    Yes, you will but first you would have to run the RUU to restore it back to stock (default factory settings and etc..)
     
  3. momoceio

    momoceio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    149
    The 1.5 RUU to go back to stock he means...just to clear any confusion.
     
  4. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    I'm gonna root my phone this weekend. I do have one burning question though; if you could, post any and ALL issues you have with the phone running 2.1. Things like lag, where is it, and how bad. Programs not working, which ones? You get the jist.
     
  5. awesomecomb

    awesomecomb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    5
    The only problem I have is exchange never working. I have tried damageless and fresh, neither can I get exchange to work.
     
  6. aplacetorest

    aplacetorest Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    I dont want to use a custom rom. I have to official Sprint 2.1 release candidate. I know its not a finished product, but i want to test it out. I heard somewhere that if this installs theres no turning back. ever. But now i just heard different, so im confused.
     
  7. redman722

    redman722 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where do you find this 1.5 RUU at?
     
  8. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you elaborate on this a bit? What exactly is the RUU, and what do you mean by "run the RUU to restore it back to stock"? How do I do that?

    I am in the same boat as the OP.
     
  9. xbrokdikdogx

    xbrokdikdogx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    45
    The RUU is the update image used to update the phone. In this case it will take whatever is on your phone now and wipe everything to install a new phone image, radio, hboot everything.

    I don't believe running the 1.5 RUU will back you out of this image though. The hboot image does not like going backwards and supposedly this should not work. I posted a link in the pre leak 2.1 thread showing how to go about getting recovery back and that will allow you to flash new and custom ROMs though.
     
  10. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    But my concern is not about being able to flash different ROM's afterwards. And really, it's not even about reverting back to the original 1.5 RUU. My main concern is being able to install the official update from Sprint when it is available, so that my phone goes back to the original "stock" condition. I was just under the impression that the 1.5 RUU was required for this.
     
  11. xbrokdikdogx

    xbrokdikdogx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    45
    Well the reason for the new hboot is so that they can make it harder to root the phone in the future. There are already workarounds though, so it's really up to you. The thing is, if we can figure out right now how to work around the hboot now, of course we will be able to upgrade to the stock 2.1 RUU. The only potential problem being if they release the final build and the hboot version is lower than the one on the leak. Even then, you kinda have to figure that someone will figure out a way to do it. There is no way for them to lock the phone down so we can't do what we want with it. Even iphones can be jailbroken.

    So it is safe to say that sooner or later, probably the same day it is released, we will be able to upgrade to the stock final build of 2.1. Personally, my phone is working so well with the RUU, I doubt I will be upgrading right away. I want to wait till we for sure have a good way to root the phone. Gotta be able to get rid of sprint apps afterall.
     
    AmericanHero likes this.
  12. jonathan76888

    jonathan76888 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    22
    agree on that!!
     
  13. AmericanHero

    AmericanHero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    18
    The Hero has been responsive, fast, and no noticable lag since the 2.1 RUU flash. I did have 1 force close scenario that I can recreate. I tried to go and run the Google Earth at "m.google.com/earth url". That would have been fun if that had worked. No biggie. Otherwise this phone is a dream. At this point I am good to go. At the end of my first year with Sprint I will take the dive on the EVO. Until then... I love my Hero!
     
  14. jonathan76888

    jonathan76888 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    22
    i bought my htc hero on the 13th of february one week later i hated it, it was so laggy, i tried to impress at work with my youtube app, and the app let me down!! I DID the RUU on sunday, nd i fell in love with my hero. like i say, this is the way the hero was supposed to be!!! Perfect!! i was wainting for the nexus one, i was going to buy it at full price, but now with my new hero, i can wait!!
     
  15. xbrokdikdogx

    xbrokdikdogx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    45
    If you like the hero now, and can live without sense ui, try the helix launcher. It is so much faster and it feels and looks so nice. It even runs amazing with live wallpapers. If you decide to try it out, download home switcher in the market then get the helix launcher. when you run home switcher you can just try out helix or you can set it as default.
     
    jonathan76888 likes this.
  16. jonathan76888

    jonathan76888 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    22
    i like it i wish i could have the htc app on this one!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...