Oh Lord, I'm new.


Last Updated:

  1. Keelana

    Keelana Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys - dont bash me lol - but I have a question. Why is the Galaxy S3 Jelly Bean software different from the other phones Jelly Bean? I have a T-mobile GS3 running Jelly Bean, but the menus and everything are different from other phones like the Google Nexus 4. I am confused! Sorry if it is a dumb question, I am coming from using a blackberry for 3 years.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4,110
    Likes Received:
    3,153
    No bashing, not a dumb question and welcome!
    Phone manufacturers add their own skins to Android; Samsung has TouchWiz, HTC has Sense and Motorola has the skin formerly known as Blur. It's how they differentiate themselves from each other.
    The Nexus phones have no skin, they are straight up Android, vanilla.
    Here is an article comparing them (not Nexus/Vanilla) from Gizmodo. That compares ICS, not Jelly Bean but you get the idea.
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  3. LilBit

    LilBit Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    5,865
    Likes Received:
    3,306
    Hi Keelana!! Welcome to the forums!!:)
     
  4. Keelana

    Keelana Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for welcoming me! This might ruin it, but I am a Mac lol. Not literally, but you get the idea! Thanks for the answer and I will look into that! And Hey LilBit!
     
  5. Hadron

    Hadron Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17,411
    Likes Received:
    10,222
    Not a problem - I'm typing this on a Mac. ;)
     
  6. Gmash

    Gmash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6,820
    Likes Received:
    3,047
    BANNED!!!



    lol
     
  7. Keelana

    Keelana Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was trying to root my T999 with my Mac, but the method I used by "HighonAndroid" - I think that's the right name - didn't work for Mountain Lion 10.7.5. Kill me
     
  8. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,891
    Likes Received:
    6,119
    Have you tried this one?
     
  9. Keelana

    Keelana Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it doesn't work either
     
  10. Keelana

    Keelana Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    It may not work because im running 4.1.1 JellyBean
     

Share This Page

Loading...