Ok, a few things I dont like or cant figure out


Last Updated:

  1. HyperM3

    HyperM3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    49
    Ok, just picked up my phone today and have been trying to move things over from my N1. So far, a few apps I had on the N1 cant be found in the marketplace and its a bit frustrating.

    First off, when you click on contacts theres an icon right next to it for "Groups". This looks cool since I downloaded a grouping program for my N1. However, when I click on the "Add Member" to one of the groups, nothing happens. It just shows no contacts. This befuddles me. Anyone get this to work?

    Also, I seem to be having an issue mounting this to my laptop running win7. That being said, I couldnt get my N1 to mount either. I usually mount on my Mac at home. So I guess this could be a Win7 issue.

    I hated the home theme so I tried downloading Home++ which I love on my N1. Too bad the app tray never opened so I had to uninstall it. Then I downloaded LauncherPro which is working great. Really really like this home theme.

    Also, how come theres nothing that shows the phone is charging when its, um, charging? Theres no led light or anything. Not even a screensaver. I miss the charging screen on my N1.
     

    Advertisement
  2. crashcarruthers

    crashcarruthers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    3
    On the charging if you push the on/off button a big picture of a battery will come up glow green on how full the battery is and pulsate show it is charging. I may have hate the phone turned off when I noticed this last night.
     
  3. Duck Tales LOL

    Duck Tales LOL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    12
    AT&T has non market apps blocked, so they won't show up in the Android Market.

    To mount to your PC, you need to visit Settings > Applications > USB Settings, and set it to "Mass Storage". Once done, when your phone is plugged in, slide the Notification window down from the top, hit "USB Connected", and then hit "Mount".

    If that doesn't work, several users have actually had to plug their phone into a different USB port(the back of the PC), and that surprisingly worked.

    As far as charging goes, you will see a lightning bolt in the battery icon when it's charging, and you will see the battery color going up and down.
     
  4. HyperM3

    HyperM3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    49
    Yeah, I saw that. But when the phone is on. I never turn my phone off and I like how my N1 has a clock screensaver bedside mode.

    Figured out the mass storage thing right after I finished posting, but thanks for that info. Again, see above, really looking for something to let me know its actually charging while its on and the screen is blank. At least on my N1 I have a little led light that is orange when charging and green when fully charged. Again, I like that bedside screensaver and I miss it. Is there an alarm on this phone?

    Sorry but I dont have the user manual with me as I grabbed the phone and charger and jumped on a plane.
     
  5. Duck Tales LOL

    Duck Tales LOL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    12
    Then yeah, I haven't seen anything at all that will let you know that it's charging without the screen being on. You can't see the cable sticking out of the phone and connected to the wall? :)


    Alarms is going to be inside Clock in the App Drawer.
     
  6. HyperM3

    HyperM3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    49
    And another thing, when I set a webpage as a bookmark, where the hell do the bookmarks go? I cant find any of them.
     
  7. Duck Tales LOL

    Duck Tales LOL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    12
    When you scroll up to the top of a webpage, to the right of the address bar you will see a star. Clicking the star takes you to your bookmarks.
     
    HyperM3 likes this.
  8. HyperM3

    HyperM3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    49
    Awesome! Thanks
     
  9. alexp72

    alexp72 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think that great solution for you will be to install Alarm Clock Plus. It's free. Just use it while charging your phone. You can dim your lighting as well.
     
    HyperM3 likes this.
  10. HyperM3

    HyperM3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    49
    Perfect just what I was looking for !
     
  11. alexp72

    alexp72 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    You're welcome.
     
  12. lilo

    lilo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think there is another way to connect via USB. I have no idea if there is any difference and whether one way is better than another. Here is how I connected the phone to my PC:

    * I did not change the settings (and my USB settings is "Samsung Kies")
    * I downloaded and installed USB drivers for Captivate from the Samsung Support site

    After I installed the drivers, when I connect the phone to PC, the phone is automatically recognized as a mass storage device (just like any USB drive).
     
  13. fmichigan

    fmichigan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm having this same problem, anyone figure it out?


    I am unable to add contacts to the groups at all.

    Groups/Add Member and it's just a blank black screen that says "No Contacts"
    Hard Menu just buzzes at me. Hard search button lets me look up contacts but no way to add them to the groups.

    I have 583 contacts on my phone, not sure why I can't group them on the phone, on outlook or on gmail.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  14. Sledutah

    Sledutah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    You can't group contacts that came from gmail. Makes no sense to me either!

    There is an app in the Market called Groupy, it will let you do it.
     
  15. fmichigan

    fmichigan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1

    All my contacts come from Outlook through exchange.

    Same problem?
     
  16. artvandalay22222

    artvandalay22222 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    26
    what sucks though is you could do it on the htc aria.you could use your computer to put all your contacts in groups, then sync it up.you could also have custom ringtone for them
     
  17. Sledutah

    Sledutah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just discovered this. From the contacts program, export to a SD card. Then import those same contacts into 'phone', then you are able to use groups.
     

Share This Page

Loading...