• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root OK I'm rooted, so now what...?

Just rooted my phone today following the guide in the sticky. Wasn't too hard. I'm a long time Verizon customer, my previous phone was a Palm Pre+ that I rooted the first day I got it. I didn't feel as big a need to root this phone, I was just bored, but I have a few questions.

Anyway I'm just wondering what I should be doing next?

I don't really feel the need to overclock yet. Plenty fast so far.

I would like to try ICS, if it isn't to complicated.

Can I install new kernals and stuff without using command line on my pc?

What is the best way to customize screens and menus? How can I go to bootloader or whatever without my pc?

I've installed superuser, and am trying to use ClockWorkMod's ROM manager. It says I need to install ClockWorkMod Recovery. Where can i get that, do I even need it?

Thanks in advance for any help. I'm new to this phone, and new to android.:smokingsomb:

Just rooted my phone today following the guide in the sticky. Wasn't too hard. I'm a long time Verizon customer, my previous phone was a Palm Pre+ that I rooted the first day I got it. I didn't feel as big a need to root this phone, I was just bored, but I have a few questions.

Anyway I'm just wondering what I should be doing next?
thats not really a question for us. what do you want to do next?

I don't really feel the need to overclock yet. Plenty fast so far.

I would like to try ICS, if it isn't to complicated.
best way would be to flash an ics custom rom. there is a patch that will make them work with your current firmware. youll find it in the original post of most ICS roms.

Can I install new kernals and stuff without using command line on my pc?
you can,but if you stay s-on,its alot more of a PITA

What is the best way to customize screens and menus? How can I go to bootloader or whatever without my pc?