OK to due OTA update after flashing ROM?


Last Updated:

  1. aptmx

    aptmx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    9
    Loving the Jager 1.1 ROM. Just wondering if it is ok to due the OTA that keeps popping up? It is the 3.6 MB update that I believe dropped a while ago. I have just kept pressing install later. Any one know if it is ok to do this OTA update?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. jonbar87

    jonbar87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    4
    I was wondering the same myself...? If not, is there a way to disable it from always popping up??
     
  3. ginocoke

    ginocoke New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Upgrade to his 1.6.1 Rom. It includes the ota update.
     
  4. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    if you are on a custom rom... you do not want to OTA update bc u lose root and rom i think
     
  5. jwm2

    jwm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    270
    As a rule of thumb never accept any ota update once you are rooted, ever. Once you are rooted you control what gets installed from that point on, not the carrier. Its one of the benefits of being rooted. Most ota updates will have some sort of security patch embedded within them and can make life rough going forward if you choose to install it.
     
  6. coolbone

    coolbone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    85
    The OTA in 1.1 is the original OTA that hit when the phone was launched. It's safe, won't kill root.

    Use 1.6.1 though, it's built in. Though there's a missing gallery and this force closes the camera. Small bug, fyi.

    But, yes. I now realize jwm2's advice is a little more sound than mine hehe. Probably all roms from now on won't have the need for the OTA.
     

Share This Page

Loading...