• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Ok to root Note before service activation?

aloerose

Lurker
Sep 13, 2013
I just received my used Note 2 N700 in the mail. I will be activating service through straight talk. Is it ok for me to root my phone before I activate service? Would this disrupt the activation process in any way? What about installing a custom ROM? Although I've had some experience, I am still a novice in these areas and I chose to err on the side of caution.
Also, any helpful information regarding straight talk compatibility would be greatly appreciated. From what I've read so far, it seems like the ST AT&T SIM card is my best bet. Again, I am cautious and don't want to end up with less than ideal service, or even worse, and incompatible SIM card.
I appreciate any help you guys are able to give me!
~Aloe

Prepaidguy, im curious what area/state your in. Reason I ask is aio has no store where I am in illinois. I tried ordering a sim for my note 2 and a phone for my son. I got a error saying my credit card does not match my zip code. I have never ran in to this before. I called my bank to make sure all matched and of course it does. I chatted with two of thier help people and they could not figure it out. Would love to use thier service. But cant get past this order thing. I know they are national now. So that should not be it. But, Im starting to think it might be.?

Upvote 0