• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Ok very basic questions here

tgulch22

Android Enthusiast
Feb 22, 2010
Perrysburg, OH
Ok, I am fairly new to rooting. I rooted my Eris using the no computer method and then was able to download and install all kinds of different ROMs.

However doing research on rooting the SF, there seems to be lots of different ways. Everything from the one step method here How to Root - Android Forums
to the odin and clockwork method here Clockworkmod installation how to for windows / *nix - xda-developers....

But none of them seem to be simple enough for a noob like me to understand (i understand the process, but not past the rooting). Can I do either method to install custom roms on there. Basically I want to run Launcher pro and not have all the bloat ware on the phone. (VZ stuff, bing, cityID)

I love the phone the way I have it (running LPP instead of Touchwiz) but I know how much faster and better my eris ran after rooting.

So I discovered, I think, how to root without a problem...
using http://androidforums.com/fascinate-all-things-root/257548-rooting-fascinate-regardless-os-version.html.

Now that being said, I guess the real confusion comes with the kernels and roms. Do I need to install something else once i finish the above process or will my phone operate normal and I will be able to remove the stock programs I dont want? Do i have to install a whole ROM like I had to with the Eris?

What is the whole thing i read about matched Kernels and ROM's? This is the part that confuses me. I think I got the how to root part down pretty good following that thread up there, but it is part after "congratulations, you are rooted" That I dont understand what I need to do or not do.

Upvote 0
Ok lots of people have viewed it but no one has commented...I am impatient..so I decided after lots of research and bouncing from one forum to another im gonna do it...
my plan