Okay Im ready to install rooted 2.2. Have a few quick questions...


Last Updated:

  1. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    257
    Just did one click root and im now fully rooted on stock 2.1 ota. I downloaded 2.2 rooted + the radio and wifi. How do I go about installing it? Should I do it through Rom manager? or do it under clockwork recovery? And which do I do first? The rom or the radio/wimax? Do I need to rename any of the Zips?
     

    Advertisement
  2. nahpungnome

    nahpungnome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    29
    Did you install the clockwork recovery through the batch file in the SimpleRoot directory? If not, do that. Then apply the rom, then radio, wimax. Then get rom manager and get the latest clockwork. Then reboot into recovery and backup your rom. You don't need to rename anything since clockwork gives you the option of installing any zip from your sd card.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  3. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    257
    Well I choose to flash recovery during the root process. I even booted to it just to make sure and its there.
     
  4. nahpungnome

    nahpungnome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    29
    Yeah I chose to do it too, but it didn't install it for me.
     
  5. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    257
    Ok I made it into clockwork recover and I choose the froyo rom zip. Choose it and it shows the install screen then it reverts back to recovery and to reboot. Am I doing it right?
     
  6. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    257
    Ok reflashed recovery and Im installing the rom now.
     
  7. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    257
    Looks like something went wrong, it keeps looping the 4g sprint clip.
     
  8. whatsitsname

    whatsitsname Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    68
    I'm not sure I understand. You downloaded a rooted 2.2 and wan to install it? If that's the case all you do is rename the downloaded root (the big file) to "update" and put into in your sd card (root, not into any folders). Restart the phone to hdboot and choose recovery. Then choose install update from sd card. Just follow the screen to finish the process. Should not take more than 10 minutes. Make sure everything works then you can try to flash the Radio and Wimax radio if you like. You do the same thing as above (one file at a time, meaning Radio first restart then Wimax and restart) rename the file to "update" and restart in hdboot and complete the same process.
     
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    OK - where are we?

    Head beating wall or celebrating???
     
  10. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    257
    Celebrating lol :D. I forgot to do a wipe/ factory reset. Did that then reinstalled rom, all is well :)
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  11. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    Great to see you rooted. Welcome to the club :)
     
  12. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    257
    Got everything back, used mybackup to restore settings plus apps. I flashed the newest FPS fix kernel. Im not sure if its just me, but it seems a little laggy. 2.1 seemed alot snappier. Scrolling through launching stuff. Do i have to clear some caches?.
     
  13. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    Yep - sadly, I found no substitute for factory reset.

    http://androidforums.com/support-troubleshooting-evo-4g/141369-how-fix-froyo.html

    On the new kernel page, there's a warning that the Clockworkmod may not clear everything out, and to switch to Amon Ra.

    I'm gonna run out and get right on that.

    For now - I just do a factory reset/restore backup whenever I flash anything and it's better - sure seems to restore the snap and pep.

    Note that you can restore your desktop in Titantium Backup (save Personalize->Scenes first), find DESKTOP - that's it. Also backup your system Mail app and it'll save you a load of re-entering. Then backup everything with a Titanium shield - you'll get to keep any wifi passwords or Bluetooth pairings you've probably made while knocking one back and enjoying your new rom.

    Trick to restore the desktop after a reset - just change one thing, then save that a scene with a dummy name - presto, the DESKTOP entry is back and you can grab what you need if you must do that one by hand.

    If you manage your batch and backup level carefully, you can always get back with one click.

    Happy rooted froyo-ing. Note the Quadrant scores we're posting in the other thread.

    XDA - Netarchy-toastmod 3.7.7 kernel with Amon Ra endorsement

    There's also a Clockwork to Amon Ra conversion thread somewhere. I lost it.
     
    nahpungnome likes this.
  14. nahpungnome

    nahpungnome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    29
    You can use Rom Manager to install the Amon recovery, it's at the bottom. I think that message about Clockwork not clearing caches is old because there have been newer versions of Clockwork since that kernel post was made. They never removed that message and I've had no issues with the latest Clockwork.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    Thanks! I'll have to check - pretty sure I'm using an older one.
     
  16. nahpungnome

    nahpungnome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    29
    2.5.0.1 is the latest...I've had zero issues with it and I've been flashing a lot of ROMs and kernels, running Nandroid, etc
     
  17. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    257
    Is it just me or is 2.2 rooted plus fps fix kernel not as snappy as 2.1 with fps fix kernel? scrolling is smooth but a little choppy.
     
  18. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    which kernel?

    i use the netarchy froyoized one. sometimes things can be choppy when first opening, but once you scroll back through it, its smooth as butta. Ideally it would be that smooth initially
     
  19. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    3,256
    I don't think it's the kernel. Mine was doing that before I flashed the kernel. Still doing it after. Something to do with froyo I think. or possibly my setCPU, but I doubt it.
     
  20. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    257
    Yeah im using the same kernel, Im thinking its Froyo. I tried changing the OC with setcpu and its still there.
     

Share This Page

Loading...