OMG! Android Running On The iPhone (No, Seriously)


Last Updated:

  1. phandroid

    phandroid Admin News Bot Recognized Contributor This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10,396
    Likes Received:
    382
    Today has just been unreal! Three new Dell Android phones leaked within a couple of hours of each other, and now we’re given a treat that we never thought we’d see: Android has been ported to the iPhone. I came across this link thanks to fabled Android ROM developer Cyanogen, who simply pasted the URL [...]

    More...
     

    Advertisement
  2. AndroidRobot

    AndroidRobot Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's amazing that they got it to work on it. Wonder what Mr. Jobs will say when he gets wind of this.
     
  3. Bnice

    Bnice Guest

    I would go that far,next all the apple fanboys will claim it. everyone know when it comes to personalization ANDROID RULES.
     
  4. QrafTee

    QrafTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    69
    "Ah... a great reason to ban iPhones and force my subjects to purchase the new device--the 4th-gen iPhone--divined by God... which happens to be my other name."
     
  5. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    So if the one hardware button is for the menu, how do you go back?
     
  6. shotgunfool

    shotgunfool Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    5
    he said in the video that he recoded the volume buttons, one for home and one for call.
     
    bluenova likes this.
  7. boss.king

    boss.king Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    First post on this forum. I'm an iPhone owner who is really excited to get a chance to use android (if it gets to the 3GS). I was wondering if its possible to navigate the android interface without really using the hardware buttons? Can their functions be performed mainly by the screen with a few exceptions or are they essential for most things?
    Sorry I know this is a stupid question
     
  8. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    Thanks, no youtube here so I only read the text :)
     
  9. Lars

    Lars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    210
    Oh no, it's gonna get porn on it now.
     
  10. Jayziac

    Jayziac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    8
    The back & menu buttons are essential on Android. I suppose home could be emulated by holding down back, and the search button is useless IMO. If the emulator can reassign hardware volume buttons, that's good enough.
     
  11. caustic

    caustic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    23
    Yes, easily. The Droid has no physical buttons, just a capacitive section at the bottom, which the screen doesn't extend to. You'd just need to make the rom so it always has those buttons appearing on the bottom of the screen
     
  12. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    105
    I hate hate hate the iPhone, BUT going to look at this as objectively as possible.

    Pros:
    Good touch screen
    Alot of internal memory for storing apps

    Cons:
    Hardware (ram, processor) not as good as newer Android phones (not fast enough)
    Camera not as good as most Android phones (no flash, 3.2MP)
    Not enough buttons (or you can make random buttons do random things making it ghetto)
    If ANYTHING happens to it (by anything, I mean including your battery dying), you are effed

    All that being said, the pros do not outweigh the cons, therefore it is smarter to buy an actual android phone.
     
  13. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    108
    If the volume buttons are used for home and call, what is used to change the volume lol?
     
  14. Jayziac

    Jayziac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    8
    It can be done through the settings menu, just won't be as convenient.
     
  15. kenliu2610

    kenliu2610 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Quite nice, another option for iPhone users.
     
  16. grainysand

    grainysand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    175
    That's silly. Why not use an actual Android phone?
     
  17. boss.king

    boss.king Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cos not everyone can afford 2 nice phones. I'm already invested in the iTunes store, but I'm interested in android too so this is pretty cool
     
  18. QrafTee

    QrafTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    69
    You should just go with an Android Phone and you can use DoubleTwist to sync your iTunes music to it.
     
  19. boss.king

    boss.king Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I already have an iPhone, because it best serves my needs, and have spent a good chunk of money on iPhone apps, the music is not the problem as I prefer CDs to the iTunes store. If i didn't have an iPhone already I might have gone with an HTC device, but I doubt it.

    All I'm saying is that its a nice option for those of us who have an iPhone to get to use Android and that's the first step to becoming an Android user.
     
  20. grainysand

    grainysand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    175
    I doubt it'll run well and function enough to serve day-to-day use, so it's likely going to be an exercise in frustration. You'd be better off trying the x86 Android port on your PC or something.
     

Share This Page

Loading...