• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

OMG! Please help me.......

i just got new droid phone. its my first smart phone. i have no experience with linux, unless u count that i touched an iphone once. im soooo lost. every one here is useing tech terms i dont understand. i have an lg apex. if any one feels pity for a noob i would really like some help with the folowing.
what is rooting?
why do i need to root?
whats is flashing the rom?
idk what droid im using, froyo, vanilla, gingerbread? these r all greek to me.
whats a kernel?
i can go on and on.
is there some basic tutorial somewhere on web i can find?
thanks for reading this far and hope to hear from someone soon.

i just got new droid phone. its my first smart phone. i have no experience with linux, unless u count that i touched an iphone once. im soooo lost. every one here is useing tech terms i dont understand. i have an lg apex. if any one feels pity for a noob i would really like some help with the folowing.
what is rooting?
why do i need to root?
whats is flashing the rom?
idk what droid im using, froyo, vanilla, gingerbread? these r all greek to me.
whats a kernel?
i can go on and on.
thanks for reading this far and hope to hear from someone soon.

1st touching an iphone isn't helping you with linux. Iphone is ios but anyways.

Rooting is gaining access to everything on your phone. Example: if your phone were a computer right now you would be a guest. When you root you become the administrator.

You may want to root eventually but with limited knowledge imo I would wait do some research in the droid all things root section.

You didn't say what droid you have so I can help you with what you are running..eclair, froyo, etc. if you post your device I'll be happy to fill you in.