on screen keyboard widget?


Last Updated:

  1. sublimnl

    sublimnl Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does anything like this exist? I have used blackberries forf the past 6 years and I really miss the ability to just type in a number right away or even just type part of someones name to make a call. Having to open the phone app, then go to contacts, then either scroll through the list or press search and THEN type a name is just PAINFUL. We're talking minimum 4 actions to accomplish what I used to be able to do at any time immediately. It seems to me that a keyboard widget on my home screen would be able to address this issue. But...Does it exist?
     

    Advertisement
  2. sublimnl

    sublimnl Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ttt
     
  3. eclipsed4utoo

    eclipsed4utoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    27
    Can't you use the Voice Search for calls? like "Call Jane"?
     
  4. dmgabe

    dmgabe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hit the search button and start typing, not really hard. It will throw up the contact, then choose which number you want to call if there are multiple. You will never be able to convince me that the extra second it takes is a real hardship. Just think of it this way, you can make up for the extra seconds to dial that it takes to boot or browse the web on a blackberry. The method above though is pretty quick though.
     
  5. svtpickemup

    svtpickemup Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    @dmgabe

    Thanks!!!
     
  6. dmgabe

    dmgabe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glad I could help. Not often that I know something useful enough to help others, but I try.
     
  7. Polymira

    Polymira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    No need to even hit a search button, just open the slider and start typing a name!

    I do miss how the Hero does it though with the phone app.
     
  8. sublimnl

    sublimnl Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    thanks, i figured that out literally 5 minutes after i pushed this back to the top. I am happy with this solution, but you can see how what I was doing in my initial post was ridiculously slow and tedious compared to what I was used to doing on my BB.
     
  9. sublimnl

    sublimnl Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    if that works for you then great, but for me that voice search is totally unreliable. the only person it gets right every time is my wife, which is actually a good person to get it right with, but I have yet to have it correctly pick ANY of the other names I have thrown at it. pretty lame.
     
  10. Hellspawn

    Hellspawn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive noticed that as long as I include the last name, it gets it spot on, every time.

    I only run into issues when I just use the first name for some reason... pretty unreliable.
     
  11. eclipsed4utoo

    eclipsed4utoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    27
    mine worked fine....when calling my wife. haven't tried calling anybody else with it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...