Once sense U.I. is removed....


Last Updated:

  1. g2k

    g2k Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, I have shutdown the sense U.I. and I have a shortcut to gmail on my desktop.

    The problem is the little icon doesn't show me how many emails I have.

    Can this only be accomplished through HTC sense?

    Also, is there a way to have my other emails on the desktop as well since the HTC email widget is tied to HTC sense?

    I have so many questions...lol, I am searching but its a slow process.
     

    Advertisement
  2. radxcoresteven

    radxcoresteven Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think that the icon that shows how many messages are unread is only available on sense..
    And I'm not sure about your second question, for I only use Gmail..
     
  3. g2k

    g2k Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems like I'm not gonna win with this phone.

    If I run sense ui then my battery life gets hosed. If I dont then I cant have my icon display a message count.

    With all these issues theres no way this phone is ready for prime time.

    I really hope 2.1 winds up being the holy grail of updates...lol.
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Download gmail unread count from the market by Alexander bloom (sp?). It'll do what you are asking.
     
  5. g2k

    g2k Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanx, I'll give that a try. I wonder if anybody has tried flashing puppy linux or DS linux onto this phone yet. I hear some guy got Ubuntu (I think) onto a kindle.
     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    No idea.

    Feel free to ask as many questions as you have. It's YOUR phone and it's important that YOU are comfortable with it.
     
  7. g2k

    g2k Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just wish these devices weren't released until they are 100%.

    They would cost more but people would have a better device and companies would have more customer loyalty.
     
  8. Little Darwin

    Little Darwin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    37
    I turned off sense, so I simply look at the notifications up top... that works fine for me, unless I leave messages unread when I open the app
     
  9. DaWeav

    DaWeav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    53
    The unread email count icon you are referring to is the HTC Mail icon which showed the unread count. The gmail icon in the Sense UI didn't show any unread count. But, when your not in the Sense UI, the HTC Mail icon is just normal without any unread count.

    BTW, I'm also experimenting with Sense turned off too and just using the native Android Home launcher.
     
  10. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    Just saying, when my Hero gets here, 8/10 chance I'm ditching sense and throwing GDE on it. I love GDE so much...
     
  11. chinkster

    chinkster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    11
    what the hell is gde
     
  12. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
  13. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    Are there ROMS built for the Hero with just stock android :D? I found Sense ROMS were pretty fast, but can imagine that without any of that stuff built into the firmware it would be even faster.. I don't even use sense on my current non rooted hero. I don't need all that extra stuff. Stock Android is OK with me :D
     
  14. shizzy1427

    shizzy1427 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    36
    GDE is NOT NOT NOT plain old android. GDE is a home replacement available on the market. Do not post incorrect information please. Also OP, you can download Pure messenger widget and it will display Gmail, Other email, facebook, twitter, texts all in one convenient widget. Of course you have the option to only show your email if you wish.
     
  15. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Ok... looks like it was explained incorrectly to me when I was asked.

    Thanks for correcting that in such a friendly manner. :rolleyes:
     
  16. g2k

    g2k Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you shizzy, I might just give that a try.

    As for GDE is that Gnome Desktop Environment by chance??
     
  17. shizzy1427

    shizzy1427 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    36
    Lol i'm not sure what it stands for, i sure hope thats what it means though haha

    Sorry if i sounded like an ass lol didn't mean to! I've heard plain old android referred to as Vanilla Android before, but nothing else really :)
     
  18. g2k

    g2k Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    It would be awesome if we had the hardware to run a full Gnome or KDE environment.

    That would be like running XP instead of windows mobile...lol.

    I have put Ubuntu on several computers with 1.0ghz processors and 512mb RAM...hmmm...doesn't the EVO have similar specs????...lol
     
  19. dpeeps74

    dpeeps74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    That's so bizarre to me. I had read some stuff where people said they got improved battery life from disabling the sense UI, and it really made sense to me so i tried it. My phone (stock 1.5 hero) actually got about 10x LESS battery life when I disabled Sense. i couldn't charge it enough. I reenabled Sense and my battery can go the whole day (10ish hours?) of "normal", not "heavy", use. When I had it disabled, i was maybe getting 4-6 hours with "normal" use.

    *yes i know that's not 10x, but it was really annoying*
     
  20. Little Darwin

    Little Darwin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    37
    I went without sense for a while and noticed no difference, so now I use Sense.
     
  21. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    I can't imagine disabling it would use MORE battery, thats weird. However, fully disabling sense is impossible. Sense is your address book, your browser, dialer, notification bar and everything else about your phone. Maaaaaybe running HOME and those sense components uses more battery? Just an idea. I'm pretty sure I noticed an increase in battery life, but its really hard to tell for sure.. I definitely noticed the phone ran a bit snappier tho. The sense home interface seems to slow down after a while from my experiences.
     
  22. g2k

    g2k Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I have reenabled sense UI and my battery life seems to be leveling out a bit.

    I can do 10 hrs of light to moderate use before needing to charge.

    I only have the sense clock and mail widget running. No weather or auto updating of any kind.

    For me I think the biggest battery saver was disabling the google auto updating, however I am still testing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...