[One Click][Updated]LG Spectrum All in One Pkg for Root, CWM Touch Recovery, and Unroot


Last Updated:

  1. mtmichaelson

    mtmichaelson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    767
    This is an All-in-One package to Root and install CWM Recovery or to UnRoot and install the stock recovery. I have spent many hours trying to modify this to be as easy as possible for all to accomplish their goals whether by modding or returning to stock. I had initially built this for the LG Revolution, and have ported it over to work with the LG Spectrum.

     

    Advertisement
  2. MrB206

    MrB206 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    254
    Do you have just a recovery install bat? I'm already rooted, so I'm not sure what will happen if I try to do it again.
     
  3. mtmichaelson

    mtmichaelson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    767
    It has an option for only installing recovery. There are several options when you run the .bat.
     
  4. Neph81

    Neph81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    823
    Dude, why is your .bat file playing with page 14? The recovery is page 13. A lot of people are going to have issues if they run this.

    Options Recovery and Root Recovery both have the wrong page listed for them.

    echo Installing CWM Recovery
    Files\adb shell /data/local/tmp/sh -c "dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p14 of=/sdcard/mmcblk0p14.backup bs=4096"
    Files\adb shell /data/local/tmp/sh -c "dd if=/data/local/tmp/cwmrecovery.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p14 bs=4096"
    Files\adb shell "rm /data/local/tmp/* 2>/dev/null"
     
  5. Neph81

    Neph81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    823
    Also, I would be carefully about this line.

    Files\adb shell "rm /system/xbin/busybox"

    Busybox comes pre-installed at that location on the Spectrum. I'm not sure what system functions call it, but I am putting this warning out in case some system file starts failing.
     
  6. mtmichaelson

    mtmichaelson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    767
    Good catch, thank you. I had already pulled the link anyways. Apparently I didn't find and replace enough. It is now fixed.
     
  7. mtmichaelson

    mtmichaelson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    767
    Special thanks to AtomIlluminati for helping me out with getting this thing fully functional! We have it up and running! Link is in the OP!

    As of right now I do not have this device, I have not personally tested this. All testing was done by others including AtomIlluminati and Neph81. If you have any problems please let me know and we will get them fixed up as soon as possible!!!
     
    magdelaine likes this.
  8. MrB206

    MrB206 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    254
    Just so I'm clear, nandroids will work now?
     
  9. magdelaine

    magdelaine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    323
    I will be trying this tonight when my hubby's phone comes home. :)
     
  10. mtmichaelson

    mtmichaelson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    767
    No, this is the same recovery the Neph81 provided. I have not begin looking into the recovery yet. May start this weekend.
     
  11. atomilluminati

    atomilluminati Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    27
    I'll be looking at and working on this as well
     
  12. hollywoods14

    hollywoods14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    121
    kinda new to this, and am learning a lot. Besides flashing Rom's .. what else is the CWM Recovery used for, or is there anything cool that i can do with it? I am rooted.
     
  13. magdelaine

    magdelaine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    323
    I'm no expert but I use it for
    • Clearing cache
    • Clearing Dalvik cache
    • Wiping battery stats
    • Manually adding and removing apk's etc.
    • Making backups
    • Wiping data

    I'm sure there's more but that's just what came to mind. It's basically about being able to put the smack-down on your phone.
     
  14. atomilluminati

    atomilluminati Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    27
    Make sure to view the links at the bottom if the OP as this is not a fully functional recovery yet... =)
     
    magdelaine likes this.
  15. MrB206

    MrB206 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    254
    Will this cwm allow me to wipe data and flash another rom? I recall seeing something about a workaround for data wiping.
     
  16. mtmichaelson

    mtmichaelson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    767
    Not right now. I can make a cwm flashable zip to wipe data. That work around seems pretty intense lol.
     
  17. MrB206

    MrB206 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    254
    lol that was kind of my point. Using ADB to wipe data and flash roms seems counterproductive to me.

    I have that test version of CM7 I want to test out, but if I can't restore, I have to prepare for a hard restore, which means backing everything up.
     
  18. mtmichaelson

    mtmichaelson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    767
    Ya, the only thing is that the Nitro and Spectrum have different partition mount points also. Using a recovery built for the Nitro with only the kernel changed out could cause problems. I don't know if Neph changed the fstab to reflect the difference.

    MrB, I have started an IRC channel on freenode.net channel #lgspectrum come on there and we can chat.
     
  19. Neph81

    Neph81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    823
    Mtmichaelson, if I didn't change the fstab, no one would be able to mount partitions in recovery to begin with :p
     
  20. mtmichaelson

    mtmichaelson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    767
    I didn't know if they were able to be mounted since I hadn't tried, and can't lol. I figured you had, but I couldn't speak for you, that's why I mentioned it lol.
     
  21. finndo77

    finndo77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    107
    Did this around 7 hours ago, ran into a little snafu, I was using dinnertime else's computer, and could nit get it (windows XP) to recognize my spectrum. I tried everything, spent 3 hours trying to get it to work. What finally did it was putting the phone in "ethernet tether mode" then the little Android guy showed up and the phone said "debug mode enabled"

    Hope that helps some one out if they have issues.

    Also, why not use the fully working touch enabled CWM for the LG Spectrum?
     
  22. atomilluminati

    atomilluminati Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    27
    neither myself or mtmichaelson had had a chance... I will later tonight or tomorrow and keep changing things as the recovery develops
     
  23. finndo77

    finndo77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    107
    Sounds good, I am holding off on customizing any more as I may be returning this on to Verizon and getting another from Amazon, or Costco if I can find someone with a membership to get me in
     
  24. MrB206

    MrB206 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    254
    That's kind of a no brainer, but not discussed by many. You have to choose 'Ethernet' to enter into debugging, which is not necessary on other phone brands. It took me a few minutes to figure that one out when I was testing this all in one.

    Because that requires installation of ADB/SDK and knowledge of command line processes. I've used it and it works, but this thread is a simple 'one click' solution that does all the command line work for the users. ultimately, we all want to make recovery tools like this for the most novice of users, so I think MT's tool is perfect for that goal.
     
  25. atomilluminati

    atomilluminati Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    27
    The OP has been updated to Cwm touch... The one click is current...
     

Share This Page

Loading...