One last one (I hope) Apps to SD card with 1.5


Last Updated:

  1. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hope this is my last question for awhile. I'm ready to take the plunge and go apps to sd. I've done searches and seen that I need to partition my sd and am downloading ubuntu to be ready for that. (As I understand, ubuntu is a good tool to use for partitioning)

    When I partition, am I going to lose everything off the SD card?

    Should I save the contents of the sd card into a file on the computer and just reload after the partition?

    Ugh...I have seen about 3-4 different websites with different ways to go app to sd. Do any of these apply to Devolios 1.5 build, and to make a long story short, what the how the heck do I do it.
     

    Advertisement
  2. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78

    it's easy enough to do and here is the link to the directions by haykuro: Haykuro Apps to SD - AndroidWiki and these directions do apply as i am running Devolio's build with 283 apps... any questions or if you get stuck on something feel free to go to the irc channel or email me... i'll help out where i can......
     
  3. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    And it all comes to a screeching halt for now. I have a 4 gb class 2 micro sd hc...time to head to wally world and pick up an 8 gb class 6 :D
     
  4. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78

    yeah and just a word to the wise if you end up with anything less than class 6 don't move your cache as it can causing issues at slow speeds.......
     
  5. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    I agree with NoOneHereYet ... as I have some issues that may be related to my current SdCard which is a class 4 :(
     
  6. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ugh...No one in town carries class 6. I picked up an 8 gb class 4.

    Some notes to myself:

    Use the link provided.

    With class 4 sd, do not move cache.
     
  7. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78
  9. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok...this might sound really stupid, but what happened to all my apps? They are no longer accessible? If they are, how do I access them?
     
  10. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hahahahah!!! It's amazing what restarting the phone can accomplish!!!

    You guys are all awesome. Thanks a million for all the help!
     
  11. markinct

    markinct Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    Stooopid question time. How can you tell the class of your card? Other than the package, since I've had my card for months and have no idea what the package might have said...
     

Share This Page

Loading...