One touch dialing....General


Last Updated:

  1. chris4x4

    chris4x4 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    122
    Is there a way to have your contacts on the home screen, and allow for one touch dialing on the new Droid RAZR?
     

    Advertisement
  2. boscoj

    boscoj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine came with a "Add Favorite Contacts" bar at the top . . . like this image

    [​IMG]
     
  3. dave1812

    dave1812 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    112

    add shortcut to homescreen: application, direct dial, choose contact.

    EDIT: I was wrong. I should have said : Shortcut, Direct Dial, choose contact. (that's how it works on the Bionic for ONE touch dialing from the homescreen)
     
    chris4x4 likes this.
  4. chris4x4

    chris4x4 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    122
    Ok....I saw that at the store.


    Does this allow to have the pic of the contact on teh home screen, and when touched, it auto dials them?
     
  5. dave1812

    dave1812 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    112
    of course.
     
  6. chris4x4

    chris4x4 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    122
  7. destms

    destms New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i do not see direct dial as an option within appliations - how can i assign a direct dial to a contact?

    this is very frustrating
     
  8. durangojim

    durangojim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    470
    This was one of the reasons I returned the Droid X. I don't belive Motorola, unlike HTC allows you to do with, which is very lame IMO.
     
  9. chris4x4

    chris4x4 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    122
    Ok....so can this be done or not? I havent had a chance to try on a demo unit, and I dont want to buy the phone if this feature cannot be performed.
     
  10. Jerzie

    Jerzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes!!! It's very simple. "Favorite contacts widget " it has 4 ppl across screen which u can pull down on to access up to 20 contacts. From each persons icon u can have one touch dialing or multiple options such as Facebook, email, text, navigation etc..
     
  11. durangojim

    durangojim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    470
    That's not what he's looking for though. He just wants one icon that when he hits it, just calls one person. one touch one step. Moto doesn't let you do that.
     
  12. Jerzie

    Jerzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Got ya. Yea its 2 clicks rather than 1. Or u can hit voice shortcut and give verbal command. Lol
    One touch or two not a deal breaker for me.
     
  13. dave1812

    dave1812 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    112
    If the Razr is like the Bionic, you can do: Shortcut, Direct dial, [choose Contact]. I may have misstated it earlier.
     
    lowboydrvr and breadnatty08 like this.
  14. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,891
    Likes Received:
    6,116
    Yes, this is exactly it. This is a straight up Android feature, not OEM dependent. If, for whatever reason the Razr doesn't have it, that's an absolute fail. What I always tell to folks new to Android is, if you can't figure it out, try a long press! :rolleyes:
     
    dave1812 likes this.
  15. jrowlings

    jrowlings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    18
    aTakephone is a nice dialer app. I think probably what I will use instead of the stock dialer, which I find not friendly for one finger use. In aTakephone you can short-press to get options (to call, email, text, etc) or long-press to dial the default number (that you can set).

    UPDATE: Sorry aTakephone, I've moved to GO Dialer EX (and contacts). Screen just looks better.
     
  16. chris4x4

    chris4x4 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    122
    OK! I figured it out in the store, and the sales folks didnt know it could be done! SO...I showed them, and then bought the phone! :) The procedure is as follows:

    From the screen you want to have the one touch added, press and hold a bare spot until the "Add To Home" screen comes up. Then select "Short Cuts". Then "App Actions", then "Direct dial", and select the contact you want to have as a One Touch dial! You can also do this with "911" if you have it saved as a contact. The nice thing with the 911 one touch dial, is that if you hit it, the dial screen shows with "911" already input. You hit the green send button, then it dials. So, you cant hit it accidentally, but still have quick access if needed.
     
    jrowlings and Xiogua like this.
  17. lowboydrvr

    lowboydrvr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    16
    Thanks for the tip. On my Incredible I had to use an app Contact Widget but on my Razr it is not needed.
     
    dave1812 likes this.
  18. OlManRivah

    OlManRivah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    4
    Tap Dialer in the Market does it. Gives you a widget. Tap once for a number, Tap twice for another, etc.
     

Share This Page

Loading...