One touch direct dial?Support


Last Updated:

  1. thenew3

    thenew3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    78
    How do you add a icon to a home screen for one touch direct dial to a contact? Used to be easy to do with the original droid. I can't find anything on the X. (running launcher pro).

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. verdegallardo

    verdegallardo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    27
    Quick contact widget or BetterCut.
     
  3. thenew3

    thenew3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    78
    ok so I would have install yet another widget? nothing out of the box?
     
  4. schmunkey

    schmunkey Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Quick Contact widget is a stock widget that comes on the phone.
     
  5. thenew3

    thenew3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    78
    I don't see it. only see a "Contact quick tasks" that creates a giant 4x4 widget and won't let me choose which phone #.
     
  6. thenew3

    thenew3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    78
    any help?
     
  7. SiXiam

    SiXiam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    40
    Hold/touch empty screen to bring up menu > Motorola widgets > Contact quick tasks > Select a contact > Select a number > Done > Click: Phone icon > Check: Enable one-touch calling for this widget > Next time you click the phone icon it will dial, you can also re-size the icon to make it a tiny box... ;)
     
  8. lamoglinsgal

    lamoglinsgal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    115
    I think that's what they're referring to, and I wasn't able to get it to work with LauncherPro, either. It works great with stock, though.
     
  9. SiXiam

    SiXiam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    40
    I didn't know this wouldn't work with LauncherPro... :(
     
  10. thenew3

    thenew3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    78

    I tried that with launcherpro, adw launcher, helix launcher, none of them will show the motorola widget box. and if I choose cotact quick tasks from the "regular widgets" menu, it creates a 2x2 widget, but doesn't let me add any phone #s. when I click on the # I want it just doesn't check the box.

    I think it only works if you use motorola's default home launcher.

    I've messed around with it for about 10 hours now, still can't figure out a way to add a 1 touch quick dial onto the home screen. Since I'm on the phone for several hours each day for work, this is definitely a frequently used feature of the original droid. On the original droid, it was under shortcuts -> direct dial. I would think that would be an android built in feature unless motorola specifically disabled it.
     
  11. droidx_fan

    droidx_fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    5
    Same thing I experienced. Tried Bettercut and it wouldn't work in Launcherpro either. In fact, it wouldn't work right in the standard Moto UI.

    Even in the standard Moto UI, using the method described above, it is very limiting. I couldn't find a way to customize the text on the icon for example. So when you reduce it to a manageable size, all you get is the first or last name.

    Very disappointing. Seems to me the folks developing these apps would take a moment to consider how they're used and apply some common sense. IMHO, this is one huge difference that is killing the Droid market compared to Apple. Their apps were so much better, not even close.
     
  12. Grad

    Grad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    7
    having the same issue in LauncherPro. When I try to add a number it says "make the widget larger to add more tasks." Can't actually add a number.
     
  13. stevez444

    stevez444 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    "Motorola widgets > Contact quick tasks > Select a contact > Select a number > Done > Click: Phone icon > Check: Enable one-touch calling for this widget"

    It worked great for me. Haven't gone to Launcher Pro yet but will deal with that when I need to.
     
  14. tbAF

    tbAF Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    In ADW and launcherpro, OCCW (one click contact widget) works ok, but the pictures don't come over if linked to facebook.
     
  15. Jim Dawson

    Jim Dawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    9
    This is unbelievable to me. On my Droid I had a folder of frequently called numbers as direct dial shortcuts and that is not possible woth the Droid X?
     
  16. Paycer

    Paycer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    98
    If you read the thread, you will see that it's already been said that you can have this feature via the Motorola widget that comes with the phone out of the box. If you are using a custom launcher, it seems that you cannot use the widget for some reason. If you're using one and can't find the feature, you can blame the dev of your launcher.
     
  17. Jayme

    Jayme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    13
    With the updated launcher pro you CAN have one touch dialing with the motorola widget and you can also resize the widget to your liking. Long press the widget, resize, then hit the back arrow.

    Also if you want frequently called numbers, click phone icon, go the favorites tab scroll down abit there should be a list called frequently called numbers.
     
  18. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    Why blame LP for motorola widgets? He doesn't have access to their code. If you're going to use LP or LPP then you have to do it the way LP does it.

    1. However the moto widgets do work now but there is a small bug about not being able to add a phone number but if I recall once you put it on the screen you can then go back and edit the number. (this may be LP pro only not sure)

    2. If you can't get moto's widgets to work you can get BetterCut or Folder organizer or any one of 10 similar apps and make a direct dial shortcut. You can add a folder to the home screen and drop all the shortcuts you want in it.

    If you're gong to bitch about having to add an app because you decided not to us the default launcher you got no one to bitch about except yourselves. :rolleyes: (I'm referring to the OP here)

    So add the app to do the task or go back to default motoblur. It's your call.
     
  19. Jim Dawson

    Jim Dawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    9
    The free app Anycut did the trick perfectly for me.
     
  20. jonatha

    jonatha New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I can create the one-touch dial widget (Moto widget/Contact quick tasks), but I can't seem to move it into a folder - it wants to stay on a home screen.

    I can move other things to the folder, so I don't think it's just because I have bad aim....

    Any suggestions?
     
  21. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    You can't put widgets in folders. If you want to put them in a folder you'll have to make direct dial shortcuts.
     
  22. jonatha

    jonatha New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought direct dial shortcuts had been removed from 2.2?

    (I certainly can't find them....)
     
  23. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    You have to use an app. I just made one with BetterCut and it works fine in 2.2
     
    jonatha likes this.
  24. Superbad

    Superbad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4
    My issue is that the icon for the quick contact shortcut on my homescreen has the picture of the contact but with a tiny Facebook logo and more annoyingly a little text message looking icon in the lower right, superimposed over the contact's picture.
     

Share This Page

Loading...