Only enable tap and hold for search buttonTips


Last Updated:

  1. aznmode

    aznmode Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    38
    Since the introduction of the new Voice Search and Vlingo being free, I've been wanting to re-enable the search button but only the tap and hold part of it to quickly launch either program. I've been looking around but can't seem to find a way to just enable the tap and hold feature.
     

    Advertisement
  2. DIESTROnG

    DIESTROnG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    7
    if Voice Search is currently set as your default:

    menu > settings > applications > Manage Applications > Voice Search > clear defaults

    basically, clear the defaults for whatever app you currently have assigned to the search button
     
  3. aznmode

    aznmode Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    38
    Hello. I believe that is to delete data for Voice Search application. What I'm trying to accomplish is just enable the "tap and hold" feature of the search button on the bottom of the phone and disable the tap feature so it doesn't launch google search with accidental tap. Thank you though.
     
  4. Munnarg

    Munnarg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    29
    You can't disable the tap feature. The above post is correct to do what you wish with the tap and hold.
     
  5. aznmode

    aznmode Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    38
    I apologize if my original post didnt make sense but all I wanted to do was enable "tap and hold" feature and not the "tap" so to prevent accidental hitting that button and have it launch the normal search. I'm not really sure how that other post answered my question. But either way...thank you both for the replies. That search button is quite annoying sometimes.

    I may just have to create a shorcut for voice search and vlingo on my home screen.
     
  6. Cobravision

    Cobravision Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    162
    I used to accidentally hit that button a lot, but I've adjusted somehow and it rarely happens now.

    One thing I will say about the Evo -- if I accidentally press something, it opens quickly and I can get out of it just as fast. With WinMo, if something started accidentally, it would take a few seconds just to open, and then I'd have to go to the task manager menu to kill it. So I'd lose like 5-10 seconds if something opened by mistake (the camera was a special case -- that made me lose 20-30 seconds). On the Evo, I can pretty much hit the back button and close the errant app immediately. So now it's down to a couple of seconds.
     

Share This Page

Loading...