1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Opera mini 5.1


Last Updated:

  1. eggs

    eggs Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Opera mini 5.1 is released and is out of beta. Now it can be set as default browser.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lavene

    Lavene Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    This was funny. The 'update available' notice came as I was installing the "Make Opera default browser" app. Not sure if that qualifies to a big laugh or a facepalm though... :p
     
  3. Burrid

    Burrid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    7
    Is it still singletouch?
     
  4. eggs

    eggs Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes
     
  5. jdaud

    jdaud Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    69
  6. jj69

    jj69 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just tried it. It is so fast--and more readable too. I'm making it my default rather than Dolphin HD.
     
  7. sarspants

    sarspants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    6
    This version of Opera is fantastic!! I've used Dolphin, Stock, Dolphin HD, and xScope and this blows them out of the water. To the guy that said yes to being single touch is wrong, this browser supports multitouch (on my HTC Hero at least). I ran some tests with an empty cache and here's what I got:

    From a cold boot (app is closed) loading Movie and TV Deals - Blu-ray Forum
    Stock: ~21 sec
    Dolphin HD: ~22 sec
    xScope: ~21 sec
    Opera: ~10 sec

    Really wonderful. Anyone know how to make new pages zoomed in instead of the large overview?
     
  8. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    I always loved opera mini on my windows mobile found, but found the speed advantage wasn't as great on my incredible.

    I've always found that dropdown boxes and text boxes never worked quite right on opera mini.

    If that's been improved, they might have a winner.
     
  9. Rew

    Rew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    18
    On the previous version you had to turn it into portrait view and tap the screen.
     
  10. debssx3

    debssx3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've updated mine yesterday and now it won't even work at all. It won't load any pages.. =/ Is there anything I can do to fix it?
     
  11. sarspants

    sarspants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    6
    Mine worked fine yesterday. Having the same issues now! ARGH!!
     
  12. Rew

    Rew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    18
    Working OK here over Wi-Fi

    The only thing that bothers me is there is still no way to zoom in and out in portrait mode :mad: I have to turn th phone on its end to zoom. :confused:
     
  13. sarspants

    sarspants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    6
    Mine's back to working status again! I guess the Opera servers were down.

    Did you try double tapping? I'm running on a 2.1 HTC Hero and I can either double tap or pinch...well reverse pinch to zoom in. There's only one zoom level but it works in both portrait and landscape.
     
  14. debssx3

    debssx3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine is still not working and I've tried installing it again but nie now it won't even install...
     
  15. xevious

    xevious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have it installed and it seems to work really well.

    However, I noticed something peculiar... I used to frequently go to the NYTimes website on my LG Lotus. When I visit that website on my HTC Hero, the display layout isn't the same. On my Lotus it showed up in "newsprint" format. A little more unwieldy to navigate, but I didn't mind as I like looking at something that resembles a newspaper. With the larger Hero screen, I was looking forward to that even more... but it doesn't show up that way. It's in some spartan linear layout. Even some parts don't show up right, like weather forecasts--data doesn't appear under columns, so it's all askew.

    I checked the Opera settings and couldn't find anything to affect this. Anybody have any ideas?
     
  16. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    I think Opera is automatically taking you to the NYT mobile site.

    When you scroll all the down to the bottom, is there an option for "Desktop" view? If you click that (assuming it's available), you should see the desktop view you're used to.
     
  17. sharkerbaby

    sharkerbaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    15
    if you go into settings, ensure "mobile view" is set to "off", reload page... Is that what you're looking for?
     
  18. xevious

    xevious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    11
    ^ BookLover, sharkerbaby, thanks a lot for your help. Yes, I see that "Mobile View" option in the Opera Mini settings now. It was ON. Nice to know about this... I take it that standard view takes up more bandwidth, so when on the go or at a diminished battery level, Mobile View on is the way to go.

    Thanks! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...