Opera mini text entryGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Jshizzy

    Jshizzy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    17
    Anyone else having problems with entering text while using opera mini? To clarify: about 1 out of every 3 times I enter text on any type of web site, or forum such as this, after entering and pressing POST, it erases all of the text. Freakin aggravating!
    I am using 2.1v2 and had this problem before I updated. I am also using swype lite.
     

    Advertisement
  2. grvthang

    grvthang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    62
    I have the same problem; in fact, I first discovered it when I tried to reply to a post on this site.
    I notice that if I hit the "Post Quick Reply" button quickly enough, the text gets posted. But it's such an iffy thing that I finally gave up - when I find the need to enter text on a web page, I switch to the stock browser in order to do it. It's a PITA, but unfortunately I haven't found a workaround.
     
  3. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    I know what you mean. But hopefully Opera is working on a fix. For now, I suppose I'll settle on the stock browser. It isn't the end of the word though since the stock browser is pretty good.
     
  4. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    I can't even select a text box in it!!
    is there a trick to it?
    cheers
    dan
     
  5. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    tried opera mobile? runs rings around anything for me now
     
  6. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    hi - thanks will give that a try - cheers
     
  7. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    ah ha! now that does look impressive :)
    installed mobile and can now edit text boxes.

    more than that it actually keeps it in view in landscape too :-D cool
     
  8. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    oh - and it looked so good :(

    doesnt seem to like certain sites when trying to enter text for a post

    please could someone try the pocketinformat forums site and see if they get the same? you dont need to actually post

    problem i get is that after opening the text box - the phone keyboard appears but then after 2 seconds it closes - you then cant enter any text :(

    cheers
    dan
     
  9. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    ^^ sounds like the usb charger bug where the cursor likes to jump around the screen making text entry impossible.
     
  10. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    hi
    usb charger? I don't follow sorry
    cheers
    dan
     
  11. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    theres a widespread bug where having the charger plugged in can cause the cursor to move around, making it impossible to enter in text for example since the keyboard will disappear if a text box is no longer selected.

    try opening up the app drawer and wiggling your usb cord.
     
  12. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    ah right that is whatnot thought you meant :)
    charger is not plugged in. seems to be only this one site at moment but then I've only tested my normal ones. might be that they are using some optimization
    that opera can't cope with?
    cheers
    dan
     
  13. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    tell me some of the sites you're having this problem with, I want to try it. (curious)
     
  14. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    it seems to work okay on these forums at least...
     
  15. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
  16. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    works okay for me but the jury's still out on whether opera mini is a better option for the little Eris
     
  17. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    oh right cool. thanks for checking

    I'm on a desire with 2.2
    is yours 2.2 too?

    cheers
    dan
     
  18. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    btw: is there a way to jump to top/bottom of screen?
    and to get to the speed dial screen? :/

    cheers
    dan
     
  19. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    yeah I'm using CELB froyo. creating a new tab should bring up the speed dial screen but I don't know about jumping to the top/bottom.
     
  20. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    OK thanks
     
  21. thrawn86

    thrawn86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    33
    hmmm can't seem too duplicate with opera mini either.

    either ill be sticking with mini for now its a bit easier on the poor phone
     
  22. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    odd just tried that forum again and still can't enter text :-(
     
  23. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    Back to dolphin for the moment

    I like the text entry but browser to buggy in this build

    Cheers
    Dan
     
  24. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    Now using xscope. Text entry better than dolphin and
    Generally better than opera. So seems like a good balance
    At the moment :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...