Orange crap...


Last Updated:

  1. Caddy

    Caddy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I'm pretty new to Android (and smart phones in general) and I have a couple of questions.

    I got my new HTC Desire on friday with Orange and while I think its an awesome phone it has come with all the Orange software pre-installed.

    Will a factory re-set get rid of this junk (and things like game demo's) or will I have to do something different?

    Also the only way to browse the internet is throught the Orange internet app which then constantly takes you to Orange World etc. I've read threads talking about the native HTC browser saying its pretty good and you don't need third party software, where is it? Will it appear if I do the factory reset?

    Thanks for any help, Caddy.
     

    Advertisement
  2. macwillis

    macwillis Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    only way to get rid of all the orange crap would be to root and install a custom rom ( being the generic HTC one)

    unless you downloaded a 3rd party browser. or found the deault browse APK online and installed that
     
  3. Halifax81

    Halifax81 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Makes me glad I upgraded with Orange through Carphone Warehouse, didn't get any of that Orange rubbish on it
     
    batesy likes this.
  4. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    You can change the homepage of the browser

    Internet > menu > more > settings > set home page
     
  5. Caddy

    Caddy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lekky, I've tried that mate and no matter what I change the homepage to it always defaults to Orange world.

    There is only one internet app and it has a little orange door on the thumbnail which makes me think it will always go to Orange content through this method.

    There is also an Orange version of Maps, Games, Messenger, Photo and some ringtones. I'm wondering if there is anyway to get rid of this crap and the game demo's before that fella gets back from holiday and finishes porting the new ROM (if that's the correct phase:)).

    Cheers for your help, Caddy
     
  6. Doink

    Doink Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Caddy try selecting your own homepage and turn the phone off and on again. I did what lekky suggested and chose google as my home page but it did exactly what you've said and kept going to orange world until i tried turning the phone off and on and now it goes straight to google
     
  7. Pryomancer

    Pryomancer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    57
    Wow, T-Mobile does none of that. The only clue that I'm with them is their logo when it boots up and 't-mobile' on the lock screen.
     
  8. nekromantik

    nekromantik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes you can get rid of ALL orange content, just need to create a gold card and flash to a generic HTC ROM. There are threads on here with instructions and on XDA Devs. People with t-mobile branded handsets have also used this method.
     
  9. MH75

    MH75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the homepage the only real problem that you have with the orange branding?

    I only ask because I'm going to get the desire from orange and would hopefully get a good deal BUT if the branding is a right pita I might look at getting one from carphonewarehouse. Although I might not get such a good deal etc.
     
  10. Doink

    Doink Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hate orange world as they want everything to revolve around it like theres nothing else out there. I just dont go near it and i manage, if you can live with the logo on the battery cover and on start up then i cant see a problem.

    The deal i got from orange upgrades was the phone for free and carry my exsisting plan over which i've had for a year, dolphin 30 discounted to
     
  11. abstractsimon2

    abstractsimon2 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    The Orangeworld thing can be fixed, as instructed above. I struggled to get rid of it myself even after changing my default homepage, but a reboot of the phone sorted it. There's also a 'App Shop' program that they've put onto one of the desktops which takes you to Orange's App Shop, not the Android Market. I just removed it as it only works when you connect via 3G anyway, bit annoying!

    There's also Orange Maps on there in the program list. But Google Maps is still there. And a Messenger program that looks like it's Orange, 'Orange Photo' and 'Ringtones' that takes you to the Orange app shop by the looks of it. I think that's it.

    Rather kindly the desktops/wallpapers have remained Orange branding free. There's an Orange theme, but surprisingly they've not set it to the default theme (hurrah!).
     
  12. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Sounds like it's a shortcut rather than a program link to open the browser. Delete it, and recreate the browser widget/shortcut ;)
     
  13. nekromantik

    nekromantik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    3
    is no one reading my posts lol
    You can get rid of the orange rom and all applications.
    Just flash the original HTC rom which will also mean you can get new updates right away from HTC and will not need to wait for a orange update.
     
  14. SithSurfer

    SithSurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    21
    Bloody hell, is it on Orange UK? I've never had any real orange branding apart from their logo on the startup screen on Hero.
     
  15. houdini2005

    houdini2005 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    5
    dolphin browser or opera browser, do the long press selction on anything orange and drop it on the remove bin. press the plus button to add whatever browser etc to home screen.

    these instructions may seem a little vague but there are vid's etc in or around this and other forums and as a new android & desire user myself all other users are friendly & helpful :)
     
  16. Caddy

    Caddy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the replies.

    Doink - Thanks for the set new homepage then switch on/off tip mate, that worked for me as well. I'm like you mate, quite a long time orange customer and I got a similar deal to you but for
     
  17. SithSurfer

    SithSurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    21
    Caddy - so without rooting, is there a possibility to run all normal Android Apps (i.e. Google Maps, HTC Browser, etc.)?
     
  18. Caddy

    Caddy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey SithSurfer, it is possible to run the normal Android apps, Orange just seem to have added their own version of some. I don't think they have removed anything that would normally be there with an unbranded phone, just added extra stuff.

    But...this is the first Android phone I have owned and I may not be the best person to judge (not sure if the browser is the normal HTC Android browser).

    Caddy
     
  19. CharlieCharlie

    CharlieCharlie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    11
    I can confirm this 100% works.

    Took 5 minutes to create a GoldCard. And another 5 minutes to flash with the latest generic ROM. You even got the OTA update as soon as you switch it on.
     
  20. Caddy

    Caddy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks mate, any chance of a link to the instructions you used....
     
  21. sparklehedgehog

    sparklehedgehog Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    unfortunately i had the same problem last year with an Omnia HD from Phones4U. Seems that they always sell their Orange pay as you go phones locked and customised. Like somebody earlier said, the only solution is to root and install the standard Rom. Carphone Warehouse never sell branded pay as you go phones, they are unlocked and unbranded which is where i bought my Desire because of this problem. It's perfect.

    Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but if you buy pay as you go orange phones from Phones4U then you have work to do to make them stock. Gits!
     
  22. nekromantik

    nekromantik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    3

    * *you do not need to ROOT the phone at all to flash the generic ROM, rooting is only for installing custom ROMs and apps that require root access.
     
  23. abstractsimon2

    abstractsimon2 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm not sure if it's just Orange or if everyone has it but is there any way to get rid of things like Monopoly demo and UNO demo from the All programs menu? Went into manage apps and it shows them as 0k and has no uninstall option (like the Orange rubbish)
     
  24. Doink

    Doink Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes good question, id like to uninstall all the orange crap too, like why have google maps and orange maps next to each other, or photos or homescreen selector, jesus if i want to select a homescreen then i'll pick one i like not what orange thinks i like, come on someone do something please.

    Also didnt all the sim free/unbranded ones get sent back to htc for re-flashing?
     
  25. SithSurfer

    SithSurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    21
    I'd double that - does anyone have instructions on how to flash an original ROM onto Desire?
     

Share This Page

Loading...