Orange UK Desire Data Allowance now 3GB??? [Incorrect]


Last Updated:

  1. HTC_Desire

    HTC_Desire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    34
    I'm on T-Mobile with a 3GB FUP (For Android Phones only) - Girl behind me at work loves my phone but is on Orange, so has literally just rung up now to get some pricing, and Orange UK are quoting her a FUP of 3GB as well. Got her to check that because I was sensitive to the differences as part of my purchasing decision and had told her it was 500MB, but they are saying yes, Orange have a 3GB FUP on this phone. Would suggest calling them up and checking if you are on Orange, and would appreciate you letting us know.

    Wouldn't surprise me as is probably a direct result of T-Mobile's increase to 3GB for Android phones, but would like to have it confirmed by someone else if possible. Good news for all you Oranges out there if true!!

    UPDATE - IT'S NOT CORRECT - They have apologised to her as they advised her incorrectly - It is indeed 500MB - Sorry to get your hopes up folks.

    Deal they offered her though was two phones (Her and Hubby),
     

    Advertisement
    Vertigo1 likes this.
  2. marshalex

    marshalex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    wonder if this applies if you've brought a handset only desire and are using it on an existing contract, might be worth a phone call
     
  3. tbl

    tbl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    5
    Some of the mobile broadband FUPs have a 3GB limit, sure it isn't this?
     
  4. rasobey

    rasobey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    6
    My "Your Account" on Orange still says I have 500MB. If it has changed, it won't be reflected until the next billing cycle.
     
  5. tbl

    tbl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    5
    500MB is generally the Dolphin package with a fixed limit. If the FUP has been upped (and I doubt it but fingers crossed) then it probably wouldn't apply to you I'm afraid.

    Panther has Unlimited internet, but currently has a FUP of 750MB
     
    Vertigo1 likes this.
  6. HTC_Desire

    HTC_Desire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    34
    I'm going to get her to call up again and check, because I think you might be right in that they have confused her phone FUP with her Mobile Broadband FUP. Just don't want her to buy something and find she didn't get what she ordered. She said that they told her the phone data allowance was 3GB and the free dongle for her laptop had a 1.5GB allowance with it, but like i said she is going to call and check again.

    Cheers
    Ken..............
     
  7. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    Err, so Dolphin is 500MB fixed and Panther is 750MB FUP? If this is the case then I was misinformed when I ordered my Dolphin 35 contract as I was told the latter. Going to ring them up now and, if they confirm this, get them to switch me to Panther I think.
     
  8. tbl

    tbl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    5
    for new contracts yup that is the case Vertigo.
    On upgrades/retentions they may offer you a better dead :)
     
  9. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hmm, they've messed up there then - just tried calling them but systems are down apparently so will call a bit later.

    AIUI, comparing Panther 35 to Dolphin 35, I basically give up 100mins (500->400) and get some picture messages and Orange Maps (plus the above Internet limit differences) - is that it? Am I missing any other differences?

    Confirmed this with Orange CS. Dolphin is 500MB "hard" limit, whilst Panther is 750MB FUP. Have switched to Panther from my next billing cycle.
     

Share This Page

Loading...