Ordering N1 from UK


Last Updated:

  1. Ozor Mox

    Ozor Mox Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone! I've been considering buying a Nexus One for a little while now, as I've been interested in replacing my current phone with Android. The trouble is, I live in the UK. I'm happy to buy the phone unlocked. In fact, it would probably be better as I'm in contract at the moment, it's just my current phone gives me rage! I have a few concerns though, maybe some of you guys who ordered from the UK have the answers...

    1. I'm under the impression it will work fine on UK networks, is that right? (particularly Vodafone)
    2. What the heck would I do for support if it broke and I needed it repaired? Currently my network would deal with that stuff, but I don't want to be left having to send it back to America...
    3. Have they fixed this camera problem yet with the pink blobs? I want to make use of the camera. I did see a thread here of pictures taken with it and they actually look great.
    4. Do I get a UK charger? Is it actually a UK charger or just an adapter for the US one?
    5. Will it have US firmware on it instead of UK firmware, or is it all generic?
    6. Will I be able to get UK localisation/regional settings?
    7. Are there any additional charges to worry about, apart from the obvious import tax?

    The short of all of this is basically, is ordering it from the US a "proper" way to do it, or should I really just wait for it to be available unlocked from the UK (if that ever happens)?

    Thanks for your help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. peenapple390

    peenapple390 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    3
    Personally, I would wait for a month or so because it is going to be able for Vodafone. If you look on the website Nexus One Phone - Web meets phone., it says "Coming Spring 2010" for Vodafone. If you also wait until then, I feel as if you would have a better shot with support and such.

    Also, to answer your question as far as software is concerned, the software comes "pre-loaded" with things such as time zones and metric units and such.

    I hope this answers your questions...
     
  3. markouk

    markouk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  4. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    1. Yes, I am on Vodafone
    2. Pretty sure the repair is done by HTC in the UK
    3. Not had a problem with the camera
    4. No, you have to pay extra for a UK charger
    5. It is a world-phone, so all generic
    6. Yes
    7. Just Vat & check the bill when it comes from DHL that they did not charge duty (mobile phones are free from import duty)

    When (and if - unlikely that the Apple litigation would result in an injunction but you never know!) it starts selling in the UK, the phone will still get ordered from Google.com as they will not be selling in-shop as Google want to protect their brand name. Would the price be more or less, who knows......

    If you want one now, just get it!
     
  5. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    1. Yes works awesome on Voda:

    [​IMG]

    2. HTC deal with it, they send a courier to collect you phone, whisk it off the the service centre in Milton Keynes, then return it to you.

    3. Oddly, this has never actually affected me anyway.

    4. You get one if you're dumb enough to pay $19.99 for it (don't, an 80p shaver plug is all you need).

    5. Firmware is the same all over the planet.

    6. Yes there is a UK option in the regional settings. The
     
  6. Ozor Mox

    Ozor Mox Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks so much for the help everyone, it's looking good for me ordering one of these phones now that I know ordering from the US is ok. Just a couple of extra questions:

    1. My current phone is insured through Vodafone as I don't want the worry of losing it. I take it I wouldn't be able to insure the N1 through Vodafone as I didn't buy it from them and they don't even sell it. What insurance options (if any) did you go for? Home contents I guess would be my fallback, but how would they replace it? Give me the cash?!

     
  7. Lukehluke

    Lukehluke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    24
    Will it be sold with T Mo UK?
     
  8. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    It's a generic keyboard, to get the
     
  9. Ozor Mox

    Ozor Mox Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. dhevans

    dhevans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    In terms of insurance, I have gone with opening a Barclays current account (the one which you pay
     
  11. Ozor Mox

    Ozor Mox Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  12. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    De-brand the N85, takes a couple of mins and you'll be the forefront of the updates.

    I did that to my N95 the day I got it.
     
  13. DannStarr

    DannStarr Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    OP - I ordered my N1 last weekend (Google dont work weekends so they didn't ship it until Monday) but I was then able to track it all the way across the pond.

    It was due to arrive yesterday, but DHL - the UK side of things cocked it up (apparently the delivery van broke down - tough luck huh) regardless, they managed to get it to me today and it's an absolutely fabulous device.

    I've owned Iphone 3GS, nokia N900, nokia 5800, N79, G1 - none of them come close, seriously, you need to order this thing (based on my first few hours usage)
     
  14. darkLuke

    darkLuke Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dammn... I Ordered my N1 during weekend as well, but I still didn't get my phone (It was shipped at 8th of march).
    I'll show you what does DHL shows me on this tracking thing.
    [​IMG]
    Is it normal?
    I live in Northampton (not birmingham), nyway at this hour I was at home (with my whole family - i'll notice somebody knocking because i was eating in room next to the front door.
    And what do they mean "recipent not at home" IF my home isn't in Birmingham AND they already sorted it in birmingham (I mean how do they cant get package to place where it's already in)??
    Sory for this chaotic post bu I'm really angry :/ I could buy MOTO milestone and I won't have any problems.
    Should I write to DHL now or what really should I do?

    EDIT:
    Already sent e-mail to DHL.
     
  15. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    It says Birmingham because that's where the 'local' delivery hub is, perfectly normal.
     
  16. darkLuke

    darkLuke Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope. There is base in my city. Anyway I called tjem and they said I wasn't at home when courier came with the package, they redelivered it so I got it now. I'm sure it wasn't ok because they gave me letter with their apologizes. Anyway I have my nexus now so it's not important any more.


    EDIT:
    I got my money for delivery back because it was too long. Nice :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...