Organizing Contacts in "People"Support


Last Updated:

  1. appleaj

    appleaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    55
    This is pretty minor, but can you sort the contacts by last name?
     

    Advertisement
  2. phositadc

    phositadc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    42
    I, too, would like to know this. I haven't figured out how.
     
  3. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    I don't believe that is an option.
     
  4. jprow507

    jprow507 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    13
    What if your contacts are placed into Gmail/Google such as Smith, John and you import them that way?

    Also if this method were followed and then Facebook contacts were brought in, would the phone be confused or recognize that Smith, John (Gmail/Google) = John Smith (Facebook)
     
  5. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    I just modified a contact to do Last Name, First Name and synced. It updated the contact and it remained linked to the FB contact. Granted I have it manually synced so I don't know how it would affect auto synced contacts.
     
  6. appleaj

    appleaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    55
    Bump
     
  7. Ender11

    Ender11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    104
    If you go into a contact and select Edit Contact then go into edit the person's name. It allows you to put in first and last in separate fields. It then shows your "Display Name" just below. On the right side of that "Display Name" field is an arrow pointing down. Press that arrow and it will allow you to swap how you want the name to be displayed. Either first last or last first.:)
     
  8. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Thanks! Guess I just never really dove into the contact field options :eek:
     
  9. jprow507

    jprow507 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    13
    So this is something you have to do for EACH contact and there is no way to simply tell it to do that for ALL at once?
     
  10. Jedi54

    Jedi54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    33
    on the "friends" widget, does anyone know if those can be arranged in an order other then alphabetical?
     
  11. bethchampionmason

    bethchampionmason New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So there's no way to just set this overall? I have 2600 contacts -- don't want to have to open every single one to change this option. :(
     
  12. bethchampionmason

    bethchampionmason New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I sure wish there was a way! Maybe somebody will write an app???
     
  13. itbedave

    itbedave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    24
    Only problem with that is that you have to do each one INDIVIDUALLY. Ugh.

    There's no reason there couldn't be a setting that allowed you to change the presentation of all of them at once since you have both a first and last name field.
     
  14. KevinE

    KevinE Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see Display name on my Acclaim.
     
  15. Murz

    Murz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    In which program did you find the "Display name" field for contact? I have Android 2.2 and can't find any "Display name" field in edit contact form.
     
  16. jayefef

    jayefef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    77
    In people, tap the name as if you want to edit the contacts name. The next screen should come up with the First Name, Last Name fields, under that is the display name option. Bad thing is you have to do this to each individual contact. no way of doing this in one option as far as i know.

    This is using HTC Sense on DROID Incredible.
     
  17. jrowlings

    jrowlings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    18
    where are you syncing to and how are they sorted there? you may have to adjust global settings in outlook (or wherever) for the display name and then resync. BUT... make sure you delete all the contacts in your inc first. Do that twice... both with the delete method in the the people app... and also through settings, applications, manage apps and delete the data and cache there as well. otherwise you'll end up with a whole mess of contacts!
     
  18. Murz

    Murz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use clear Android without HTC Sense, so in android core there are no Display Name field :mad:
     

Share This Page

Loading...