OTA Custom Recovery, Go or No Go?


Last Updated:

  1. flick159

    flick159 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    19
    Alright guys, latest OTA update just hit my phone. I'm curious if I'm in a safe position to update?

    I'm using drellisdee's recovery v1.2.3 and Velocity 0.2

    From what I've read, Amon-ra and clockwork custom recoveries will block this update from installing. I just want to be sure before going ahead and telling it to install. I assume this will keep my recovery and rom intact, and stop the notifications?

    Are there any other ways to stop the notifications?

    Just want to get a definitive answer from someone that's already done this with a custom rom and recovery.

    Thanks guys.
     

    Advertisement
  2. dots

    dots Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    245
    I'm using drellisdee's recovery too and i got the update yesterday while i was on velocity. I told the update to install later and restored back to my stock rom. When on my stock rom i went to system updates and there it was downloading. Told it to install and i went to sleep. Woke up with the update. Lost root and custom recovery. But using androot 1.6.2 beta and re-rooted and reapplied the recovery then re-flashed velocity.

    When i got back on velocity i got the update prompt told it to install, it booted into recovery and got validation error. Which means it didn't install.

    Now i was told i couldnt install the update with a custom recovery but the update installed with drellisdee's recovery using my original stock rom.
     
  3. flick159

    flick159 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    19
    Hmm, interesting. I'm assuming when it didn't install it stopped the updates too?
     
  4. dots

    dots Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    245
    Yep :)
     
    flick159 likes this.
  5. flick159

    flick159 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    19
    Alright thanks man. Guess I'll let the update do it's thing and hopefully it won't screw anything up. If it get's bricked I'll just take it to verizon and play dumb lol

    Thanks again.
     
  6. flick159

    flick159 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    19
    Sweet! Worked out great. Drellisdee's recovery threw a verification error, reboot and everything is back to the way I left it. No more notification either.
     
  7. swc2001

    swc2001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    234
    Yes thats what I did originally as well... now try and do the Nandroid backup and recover one of your old Nandroids. I hope it works out but it didnt for me. I think If I play with it enough and talk to vmanisme and drellisdee they will get me back up and running.
     
  8. flick159

    flick159 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    19
    I haven't had issues restoring nandroid backups. What problems are you running into?
     
  9. swc2001

    swc2001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    234
    Well its weird its tellin me to use goto the adb shell while in recovery mode and then to run nandroid-mobile.sh restore. The problem is when I do this I don't know how to make it do what it needs to do. Its weird I can't use any of my previos 10 backups that I have used successfully in the past. . Its almost as if I have somehow corrupted the backup system. I have flashed back to stock recovery several times and then put back the gnm1.2.3 but the same result still occurs. I can't remember what threaad it is in but I show a pictue of what is happening to my back up. I am really scratchin my head here also I don't type well and this is complicating my communicating to you guys. I really am pretty good at this kind of stuf.... ten years ago. However I am kinda behind the power curve today. I just need some help getting my back up system operational again. I wish I could just call one of you guys I hate typing LOL
     
  10. flick159

    flick159 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    19
    I had that issue with a few of my back-ups, mostly one's I renamed. Drellisdee did state in his recovery thread that v1.2.3 is having issues with nandroid restore. I reflashed v1.14 and haven't ran into any restore issues thus far. Perhaps try that recovery?
     
  11. getitnowmarketing

    getitnowmarketing Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    788
    Its not needed to flash back as there are no issues with restore it just defaults to the LATEST backup. Just follow the directions I posted in the thread of copying the backup you want into the newest dated nandroid folder or from adb shell in recovery do nandroid-mobile.sh -r

    As soon as I figure it out I'll update it and get my recovery added to rom manager.
     

Share This Page

Loading...