ota notification


Last Updated:

  1. Trel

    Trel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    10
    I forgot to disable ota notifications, and now I am getting the 2.1 one. I disabled the cert, but I keep getting the notification,, how can I disable that now?
     

    Advertisement
  2. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Now is the time to flash another ROM. Here is some more info on blocking OTA updates:

    Block OTA Updates | Root Your Droid
     
  3. Trel

    Trel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    10
    That is not what I asked
     
  4. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    I think his point is that the OTA notifications aren't going to go away unless you flash something else.
     
  5. Trel

    Trel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    10
    No, if I had had removed the certs, I wouldn't get them to begin with. I didn't do it in time, there has to be something on the phone I can change to kiill them.
     
  6. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    And if there isn't?
     
  7. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    There are good ROMs (great ROMs) available. Why don't you just flash one of them and be done with it? Then it won't be an issue.
     
  8. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    That's what I'm encouraging him to do.. Not sure why he's being difficult.

    With ROM Manager and Titanium Backup you can flash a different ROM and still have all your programs and data. Takes 15 minutes max.
     
  9. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Agreed. Simple - continue to get annoyed by update messages or move on to something better without the annoyance. Tough choice :confused::confused::confused:
     
  10. Trel

    Trel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    10
    because I spent the last month customizing the phone the way I like it and do not want to use a custom mod. I guess I will ask elsewhere. This has been about as helpful as people who tell me to get a mac when I ask about a PC problem.
     
  11. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Well I am in tears that we let down. Hope you find a solution and a better attitude towards those that are trying to help :D
     
  12. joshi3joshi

    joshi3joshi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    whats this guys' problem..lol :confused:
     
  13. Trel

    Trel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    10
    Look, I'm not trying to have a bad attitude. I'm being told that rather than anyone really helping, I should use a different rom instead.

    I can't believe that this is the only way. It had to download something, and that something should be able to be removed.

    It's not that I'm having a bad attiude, but I really can't see telling me to use a different rom, as being any more helpful than the mac example.

    (If you look at my post history, almost every question I asked had to do with AVOIDING using another rom and doing everything I could with the stock firmware as the base)

    (Plus, based on other people's topics: http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-droid/59438-ota-getting-thru-sholesmod.html the rom change wouldn't work anyway )
     
  14. mihalich

    mihalich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    44
    Guys, I don't want to argue, but I'm with the OP. In this link, in how to disable OTA updates, it says nothing about having to flash a custom ROM to disable OTA.

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-droid/45764-guide-s-everything-root-related.html

    Just that you have to root, and run the commands to rename the files, which will disable OTA updates.

    So the real questions are:

    1) Did the OP follow these instructions? I assume yes.
    2) If yes to number 1, why is this not working for him?

    You can disable ota without having a custom ROM. But you do have to go through the root steps.

    Thanks,
    Joe
     
  15. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Joe, you are right. The solution originally provided should have worked. But one thing I and others try to do when something is not working is offer a viable alternative. I have posted questions and although did not get a direct answer, responses were still helpful and I showed my appreciation for the intent. A simple "Hey thanks for trying to help but I really want to do it this way" is fine. A sarcastic "This has been as useful as..." is really unacceptable in the context of this thread.
     
  16. mihalich

    mihalich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    44
    it's funny, on the other OTA thread right by this one about sholes/DM, I just kind of got pissed off. Sometimes I just gotta hit the 'chill button'.
     
  17. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    14
    From the Droidmod forum, as posted in "the other" thread.

    "If you installed DroidMod 1.0 via DMUpdater, just accept the VZW OTA 2.1 update. It will boot your Droid and go straight to SPRecovery. Select the Reboot (the 1st option) and you're good to go."

    I can confirm it works.
     
  18. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    Just make sure you don't accidentally let it skip past recovery and patch your phone. The result will be a mess, I'm sure.
     
  19. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    Just keep in mind that with Titanium backup, you can keep all of your programs and all of the data that goes with them. All you would have to do is set up your icons and widgets again.
     
  20. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    14
    It took me strait to recovery. I was thinking the same thing though when I did it.
     
  21. Decus22

    Decus22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    13
  22. Trel

    Trel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    10
    For the record, I was able to solve my problem by moving the certs files to another directory, rather than just renaming.
     
  23. mihalich

    mihalich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    44
    This caused a boot loop for me on DM 1.0 when I reboot the phone. It would get to the DroidMod boot screen with the little progress bar, then about 5 seconds later, it would reboot.

    Specifically what I did was create a /system/etc/security-old dir, and I moved (mv) the 2 certs files from security to security-old via ADB, then rebooted.

    Joe
     
  24. Trel

    Trel Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    10
    I don't know. Leaving them there didn't help, but also I'm not using Droidmod. I'm using the plain OS that I added to myself.

    EDIT: I just rebooted mine, with the files not there, and the result is,
    removing cacerts.bks prevents my phone from booting, but removing otacerts does not.

    Verdict (in my case)
    Remove otacerts.zip but leave cacerts.bks
     

Share This Page

Loading...