Otterbox Defender Review

Last Updated:

1. firemanjay

firemanjay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Here is my attempt to review the Defender Case for the EVO,
    Please go easy on this it is my first time to do something like this, I know that the sound is kind of loud but what the hell it gets my point across.

I ordered my case on the morning of the 10th of November and of course the 11th was a holiday. it arrived on the 17th by way of USPS.

I am overall happy with this case there are a few minor issues that I show in the video I paid just $40.45.

The outer silicon layer does seem to collect dust, I think that is an issue with all silicon covers. In the video it didn't seem to fit all that well but i went back and did a better job of installing it, The port covers are the weakest link of this part. The volume buttons and power buttons seem to be well designed and do a great job.

The plastic screen protector does seem to have that wet look. (I will try to wash it or use the baby powder trick later and get back to you all) but it does do a nice job, it covers just the touch area of the screen and leaves open the sensor, camera and speaker. On the back side the plastic covers the camera and the led lights but leaves the speaker open.
    The kickstand snaps in to the cover and does seem a little week but since I only use it to prop up the phone I cant see where there would be an issue, I do like the fact that it has a flat spot instead of a rounded end, this gives it a little more stability. If you notice in the video that when you push on the upper left hand corner of the phone with the kickstand deployed that it could fall over, same issue with the stock kickstand.

The holster is somewhat of a loose fit as seen in the video. if you put the phone face forward, if done face out it seems to fit better.
    I like the face inside the case seems a better protection factor, (I may place small sections of velcro in each corner to tighten it up)