• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Out of memory notifications & apps unexpectedly ending

Hi, this is my forst post. I am a veteran PC user (desktop, OS's) but brand new to the world of Android. The viewpad 7 being my first entry into Android.

I recently bought my first ever Android device, an Viesonic Viepad 7 model VS13761 with 512mb RAM and Android 2.2. I am thouroughy disappointed with the device. My biggest disappointment is with regards to the lack of memory.
Problem: the lack of memory whenever I try to launch apps and unable to install apps due to lack of space, but I've already moved everything that could to the SDCard.

I have moved all the apps that I can to the 8Gb memory card but that made no difference. Whenever I got an 'out of memory', or 'not enough space to run...' I restarted the device and that made no difference. As a result I am unable to install any more apps and can barely run anything on the device.

My question is:
1. Is the memory issues I am experiencing because of a limitation of Android 2.2 ? I have already read other forums posts relating to my question.
2. Would a Android (2.2, 3.0, 3.1) device with 1Gb Ram and 4/8/16/32Gb SDcard memory also have the same memory issues as previously mentioned ?
3. Does the amount of RAM have any influence on the amount of apps one can run ? Meaning, no matter if one has 512mb RAM and a 32Gb SDcard memory, you would still have the limitations of only bing able to run what one can load/run from RAM.

The reason for my asking is that I am looking to import myself tablet direct from an online Chinese dealer. I don't wanna buy another 512mb device just to find that I will have the same issues that I am trying to escape, namely memory litmitations.